Scintilla Project, Day Three

Today I chose prompt #2, simply because I couldn’t think of a single instance of prompt #1 (“Sometimes you have to be cruel to be kind. Write about a time you taught someone a lesson you didn’t want to teach”).  Oh, I’m sure there have been some experiences like that; I just don’t remember them.  So here is prompt #2:

2. Talk about a time when you were driving and you sang in the car, all alone. Why do you remember this song and that stretch of road?

I have a 26-mile commute to work, so when I’m not listening to podcasts or audio books, I am singing!  The time I remember most vividly was embarrassing even when I think of it now.  It was 1998, and I had seen the movie Titanic several times.  Oh, what an epic adventure! The tragedy! The romance! The breathtaking sets and gorgeous costumes!  ::le sigh::

At the time, I was working evening shift, so it was after midnight as I plummeted down a two-lane country road at 60 mph.  I was singing along to “My Heart Will Go On”; my voice cracking, tears streaming down my face.  The song always brings back memories of the beautiful scene in which Jack and Rose kiss for the first time, and I always tear up at stuff like that!

So there I was, singing and sobbing ridiculously, when all of a sudden, some kind of small animal streaked out onto the road.  My heart leaped; I shrieked in surprise!  Somehow I managed to swerve, narrowly missing the creature, but it took a few seconds to get straight on the road again (and quite awhile longer for my heart to go on)!

I felt like a complete idiot.  Thank goodness there were no witnesses!

One Response to “Scintilla Project, Day Three”

  1. Joni Says:

    I have been surfing on-line more than 3 hours nowadays, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It is lovely value enough for me.
    In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you probably did, the internet might be a
    lot more helpful than ever before.

Leave a comment