Scintilla, Day 4

1. Being trapped in a confined environment can turn an ordinary experience into a powder keg. Write about a thing that happened to you while you were using transportation; anything from your first school bus ride, to a train or plane, to being in the backseat of the car on a family road trip.

Hmmm…I don’t have any “powder keg” type stories (unless you count the numerous road trips when we were kids and Dad would go nuts and start whacking around the back seat until my brother and I stopped doing whatever we were doing that was driving him nuts).

Coincidentally, though, I was just telling my niece, who at age 14 has already traveled by herself on a plane, that I did the same thing when I was 15 and visited my grandmother in Florida.  On the jet back to Iowa, I sat next to a man who, at first, apparently thought I was an adult and started flirting with me!  He did eventually figure out I was instead a very young teen (probably because when I opened my mouth, a child’s chatter came out instead of that of a grown woman), and then I’m sure he was sorry he had to talk to me the rest of the flight!

I remember being irritated because I was telling him I knew a lot about weather, because my dad was a hot-air balloon pilot.  I proudly recited the types of clouds – cumulus, nimbus, stratus, cirrus – and what each one looked like.  He said, “That’s great, but what about cumulonimbostratus?  And nimbostratocumulus?”  Yeah, I think he was just making up words to tease me, but I just looked at him dazedly, all the wind taken out of my sails.  Then he laughed at me and I instantly hated him!

Hmmph.  Not exactly a powder keg, but memorable all the same!

Leave a Reply

