2009 – Late as Usual

Every year my pal Terri and I collaborate on a calendar, making two pages each of six months. Each year we swear we’re going to get an early start on next year’s calendars, and each year we’re not nearly done by the time January rolls around.  This year was no exception, of course. I managed to finish January by the first week of January, which I think is quite an accomplishment, but the rest of the pages only just got done this afternoon.  (Still, I’m way ahead of the game compared to last year.)

January’s pages are currently at work.  I taped together two 8″ page protectors, tacked them my corkboard and just switch out the pages every month.   I keep the “used” pages in an 8″ album and print out a little summary of the month’s activities to go with them.  It’s rather like a decorative diary and so much fun to look back through every December. 

I can’t wait to see what Terri has come up with!  It seems like our pages get better every year.  For March’s design, I took inspiration from the Laurel Burch cigar box I made for a swap last month. It took quite awhile to do, but it’s a ton of fun cutting, pasting and punching and I really like the bold colors.

march 2009

A vintage Mother’s Day theme seemed appropriate for May. This is definitely more my usual style.  For some reason, crystal gems always look like silver studs when they’re scanned.  I’ve had the laser-cut border stickers for at least eight years.  (I wonder if they still make those?)

may 2009

July is an homage to Terri, who loves her some cowgirls! I had the perfect suede ribbon in my stash (and no idea where I got it).  It came with the eyelets already installed; I just added a length of hemp cord.  The background is acrylic paint and the papers are by one of my favorite companies, Daisy D’s.

july 2009

September is all about the magic! I used paper from the “Once Upon a Time” line by Die Cuts with a View for the background pages. (It’s so handy to have them cut to 8″ square already!)  The fairy image is from a collage sheet available at Shabby Cottage Studio.

september 2009

This is the top page for November; I haven’t had a chance to make the bottom yet. I’m all in an Asian mood lately because I’ve been playing a game called “Liong: The Lost Amulets,” which is far too much fun.  (Meaning I’ve wasted hours playing it instead of making calendar pages!)  The background is fabric from a fat-quarter stack I got at Joann’s.

november 2009

I can’t wait to put these together with Terri’s pages to make a wonderful 2009!

3 Responses to “2009 – Late as Usual”

  1. Terri Says:

    You know, I think considering how late we’ve been in past years that we are actually early this year! Think about it.

    I love your pages, as always! Very hard to pick a favorite – impossible actually. January is wonderful, love the bird theme and you know I love anything vintage, so May is lovely, and the cowgirl theme, well, it’s awesome, I did my own version for August, but am rethinking it now – they are all so awesome! Can’t wait to see them all together.

    I am in the process of posting my pages on my blog today – hope to have at least some up them up in a little bit.

    You did good, as always!!

  2. Sonia Says:

    Love the calendar page.. awesome work. The last page with the assian theme is one of my favorite, i love this theme.
    Great Job!!!!
    Greetings, Sonia (Sony)

  3. Cindy Says:

    What a wonderful idea! I love, love, love May!

Leave a comment