Ready for 2022

Normally, I make my yearly “smash books” from scratch, but when I stopped in Joann Fabrics a couple days ago to grab some paper for an upcoming project, I ran across an aisle of planners and supplies, and all the “Happy Planner” brand were 30% off.

I had already decided to go again with a tiger theme as I did last year (I ‘ve been obsessed with tigers ever since touring Big Cat Rescue in Tampa a few years ago), and it so happens that 2022 is the Chinese Year of the Tiger. Sweet! Lots of amazing graphics are out there to now enhance my book. When I spotted this planner, dubbed “Neutral Jungle”, the possibilities started to whirl! Not only do the inside pages have tabs for each month (how I love tabs!), but they are decorated in a wildcat theme. Perfect!

The tab pages are sturdy and have wonderful graphics.

The book is bound with plastic rings, so you can easily remove/rearrange the pages. I will very likely remove quite a few to allow for expansion as I paste in photos, ticket stubs, receipts, greeting cards and other ephemera throughout the year. My books always end up at least 1-1/2″ to 2″ thick!

Of course, the cover was far too plain for my liking. My motto is, has been and always will be: More is more. If it doesn’t contain everything and the kitchen sink, it’s not finished. Also, glitter and flowers must be involved.

I sanded the laminated cover, painted it teal and dabbed an orange-y glitter paint around the perimeter. Onto this I glued a couple layers of paper I made with my Gelli plate, then a printout of a beautiful digital watercolor tiger image. I added a few stripes with a black pen to add interest to the left edge and painted chipboard numbers with Ranger Pearl gunmetal dimensional paint. (It was surprisingly difficult to find an alphabet set in my stash that had three “2’s” in it!)

Rhinestones colored with alcohol ink and a die-cut fabric layered flower completed the design. (Unless I decide to add more later! …But probably it’s finished.)

Did you know the stripe pattern is unique to each tiger? They are like fingerprints; no two alike. This print depicts a tiger named Jasmine, who currently resides at Big Cat Rescue. The artist has many similar prints of real animals available in her Etsy shop, Dancing Butterfly Arts. (Not affiliated, just a big fan!)

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment