Inchie Mania

Seems like everyone’s got it! I recently joined an altered art group that meets the second Sunday of each month at a local scrapbook store. Someone always volunteers to provide a tutorial, and this month, it was all about the inchies. Coincidentally, the gracious hosts of the Awfully Big Art Adventure are making wonderful things with inchies for their weekly Friday challenge.  These gals have more talent in their (combined) little fingers than most of us do in our entire hands!  And yes, I realize that was a really bad metaphor – but it’s my way of saying I totally admire their work.  Beautiful stuff!

Anyway, I made five inchies at the altered art club meeting, each with a similar theme (because I happened to have some tiny butterfly images with me – and my bling, with which I never leave the house). When I got home, I mounted them on brown cardstock, then attached that to a dictionary page and another layer of cardstock – pink this time, because it’s my favorite color.

inchies piece

Thus far it could be a nice bookmark on its own, but I’m thinking I might eventually attach it to a larger piece, perhaps a journal cover. I’m a little distracted from finishing it at the moment because I’ve had to rush to finish a baby album for a co-worker who is being induced this coming Tuesday (two weeks early! I thought I had plenty of time!) – and they’re changing my schedule at work, so I’m currently in the midst of working five days in a row. (Fortunately they’re only going to be ten-hour days from now on instead of twelves, so at least I won’t be completely dead by the time it’s over.)

13 Responses to “Inchie Mania”

  1. ~*~Patty Says:

    Your butterfly inchies look beautiful enough to hang on the wall! This piece is really lovely!
    Take care and don’t work too hard!

  2. Rosie Radcliffe Says:

    Love the butterfly theme and they are so pretty! And what a clever idea for how to use them too. Great work and thank you for joining in our challenge.
    Love
    Rosie ABAA

  3. crissi Says:

    wow beautiful inches love how you have displayed them

  4. Lisa Says:

    I have fallen head over heels for this! Butterflies, bling, pink….what more could there be? I’ll just tell you straight up: I’m going to make one like it! How nice to have an art group to meet with–sounds like so much fun.

  5. Linda Says:

    Beautiful inchies…and Patty is right; you should hang them on the wall!
    I love the 3D effect.
    So glad you joined in with us.
    Love
    Linda

  6. sherry Says:

    Love the inchies..I think those who do these become addicted very quickly Lisa.
    Ooohhh a baby book…ah Lisa, you know baby’s do their own thing right from when they choose to be born… 🙂

  7. Jaqi Wright Says:

    very nice indeed, what a great idea to put the text on there, it looks great, Jaqi

  8. Dot Christian Says:

    These are beautiful. Love the butterfly theme!

  9. lucy e Says:

    Love how you used your inchies from the altered group, Lisa!! The dimensional butterflies turned out fabulous!!

  10. Amber Says:

    Check out the piece of yours that I will be listing next week on Ebay!
    http://www.makesawish.blogspot.com
    PLEASE advertise!

    Thank you!
    Amber

  11. chriss Says:

    love what you have made with your inchies lisa very nice.
    chriss x

  12. SueAnn Says:

    Inchies are so fun to do and definitely addicting. Yours are terrific!! And they do look very three dimensional. I am enjoying your blog very much. Thanks
    Hugs
    SueAnn

  13. Nan Says:

    These look great! I like this new way to play with the inchies…. And yippee for the new schedule!!!!! Now you have some more time to play!

Leave a comment