“Chunky” ATC

This week’s challenge over at the Big Art Adventure is basically to make an ATC on a block of wood.  Perfect for me, because I love ATCs and because I live with a guy whose main goal in life seems to be to fill our house with random pieces of wood and power tools.  It took him less than a minute to cut me an ATC-sized block – after warning me that what the wood vendors claim is 1″ thick is actually more like 3/4″.  (Because clearly my project could not work unless the thickness was exactly to specifications.)

I painted the wood turquoise (one of my favorite colors to use lately), stamped the sides and then made an acrylic ATC to adhere to the front with sheet music, a stamped image and a vellum ribbon/bow.  Of course nothing I make is complete until I add flowers and/or bling and/or both.  Mine is not nearly as beautiful and intricate as the examples on the Art Adventure site, but I really enjoyed making it and would like to do more.  Now, let’s see…where could I get some more wood?

chunky atc

From the left…

chunky atc other side

…from the right.

10 Responses to ““Chunky” ATC”

  1. Linda Says:

    Thats a lovely piece of artwork Lisa – and how lucky you are to have someone provide you with the raw materials!!
    I hope you manage to make more…I find them quite addictive.
    Thanks for joining in.
    Love
    Linda x

  2. Linda Says:

    PS I have added you to the list!

  3. ~*~Patty Says:

    Your block is brilliant. Love turquoise too and your transparency idea is fantastic! It strikes me as odd they call them 2 x 4’s and they’re only 1.5″…what IS that about LOL!

  4. Jaqi Wright Says:

    This is lovely, and I agree, they are very addictive.
    I have a feeling we will all make more of these through time. Everyone seems to have had a good time with this challenge. Looking forward to seeing the next ones you make as this one is great. Jaqi

  5. morthanenough Says:

    Wow! This is really beautiful.
    Nancy

  6. Dot Christian Says:

    This is gorgeous. You have done a wonderful job!

  7. Rosie ABAA Says:

    I’m another one who has recently developed a love of turquoise – something in the water??? You’ve made a great job of this block and lucky you having a ready source of wood! Thanks for joining in our challenge.
    Love
    Rosie ABAA

  8. Kimmie Says:

    Lovely colors and image!

  9. chriss Says:

    Hi Lisa,

    I couldnt stop looking at your ATC, wasn’t sure if you had stamp the face on or stamped the music on…thanks for letting us know…
    The face stamp is gorgeous.

    I too went for Turquiose on this one so must be something in the water like Rosie said.

    chriss x

  10. Tammy Says:

    I love your chunky ATC. I wanted to try one but was not sure how long they give you for each challenge. I like how your Owl journal came out for your swap. It’s funny because I have that same attitude towards owls.

Leave a comment