Steampunk Easter

Ranger is having a challenge to decorate Easter Eggs using Ranger products, and their examples are so cool – check them out!

When I think of Ranger, the first person that springs to mind is Tim Holtz. I’ve been a long-time fan, and love the story of how he got into the business – resisting at first! – and went on to become such an amazing and inspiring artist.

When I think of Tim Holtz, I think vintage, grungy and distressed, and wouldn’t you know it, Steampunk goes so well with that aesthetic. So I knew I was going to do a Steampunk egg and began by running metal tape through my Sizzix with Tim’s Riveted Metal embossing folder. I cut it into pieces and covered a silver Easter egg from the craft store, rubbing down any wrinkles. (With their unending curves, eggs are quite a challenge to cover with anything!)

I painted the egg with metallic bronze Distress paint, rubbed with black permanent ink to highlight the “rivets” then dabbed on some minty green paint here and there to mimic copper that has begun to rust. Somewhere along the line, I decided to make my egg into a balloon.  Little did I know what challenges lay ahead with that decision!

close up egg

I created a net out of black cord, which involved a lot of pauses to ponder and considerable head-scratching. (Which cord goes where, now?) The net was literally nailed onto the egg near the bottom so it would hang straight (thank you, Tim hammer!) and then I covered the nailed edges with gears created with  Tim’s gear die.

It took forever to get the chains to hang correctly, and please try not to notice they still aren’t quite right. I had mistakenly thought the challenge ended Sunday, and once I realized it ended a day earlier, I really had to scramble to get this done. (There may or may not have been tears as the clock counted down the minutes!)

steam egg 3

Tim Holtz copper jump rings attach the chains to the basket, which is cardstock covered with Tim Holtz metallic sticker strips that I colored with Ranger alcohol ink and rubbed with permanent ink to highlight the raised stars. The flag at the top is made with Tim Holtz tissue tape wrapped around a Tim Holtz memo pin. (Man, Tim is everywhere on this egg!)

It had just started to rain when I went outside to photograph this, so I didn’t have time to get the best pictures, but at least I got it done! (No more tears! LOL)

steampunk egg 1

3 Responses to “Steampunk Easter”

  1. xmonic Says:

    This is sooo amazing ❤️ I love it! Have to try and make one like it.

  2. Anita Houston Says:

    Your egg is MOST EXCELLENT!!! I love that you made it into a balloon! Fabulous, every detail!!!

  3. myrepeatingpatterns Says:

    This is really cute. I like using the egg as something else like a balloon and steampunk is one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

