Word of the Year

For the past few years, I’ve noticed other bloggers assigning themselves a word for the year, as a sort of guide or mantra or ideal state of affairs they hope to accomplish. The word is always something positive and deeply meaningful to that person.

While it’s an interesting idea, one word can’t apply to every situation. If your word is “brave,” does that mean you will be more inclined to take unnecessary risks? Or maybe your word is “forgiveness.” If so, would you be more willing to endure mistreatment at the hands of others?

I personally thought the idea of choosing one word was fairly limiting, and the couple of times I decided to do this myself, I could never land on a particular word. Then, as I was falling asleep last night (or, attempting to, since I just switched from night shift to day shift and still haven’t adjusted!), I realized that I do want to choose a word this year and the perfect word suddenly came to me:

incomparable

Because this is what I do too much of: comparing. I compare my lifestyle, my ideas, my choices, my priorities… We all seek out similarities in others; it’s a natural human tendency. Unfortunately, we also notice the differences, and sometimes those differences can frighten us. All too often, we compare what we have, what we do, what we think, what we own, what we produce…and we find ourselves lacking.

This year I resolve to stop comparing. We are all unique – incomparable, as it were! – no two of us are alike and no two of us ever will be. And what a wonderful thing that is! If everyone were like me, the world would have no doctors (I’m squeamish!), we’d all be vegetarians (I’m not one, but I could never bring myself to butcher an animal!), there would no longer be music (because I can’t play or sing to save my life!) and we’d all be living in caves (because effective use of power tools eludes me!). On the positive side, we’d all be considerate of each other and kind to animals, believe in peaceful resolutions, never let anyone go hungry, and fill the world with amazing art (just don’t ask us to do math).

So there’s my word for the year: incomparable. No better, no worse – just different.

One Response to “Word of the Year”

  1. The Other Chick Says:

    You have always been beyond compare to me! You are so unique, always ready to jump in to any new challenge, to try whatever new art technique or project that comes your way.

    Trust me, there is no one like you!

Leave a Reply

