ATC Frenzy

Last year I joined an ATC swap with Roni at the Ink Stains blog. We could make up to 30 cards each, so I did just that! Unfortunately my cards got lost in the mail and the swap went on without me. 😦 After a couple of weeks I got back my torn, empty envelope and a search request submitted to the post office turned up nada, zip, zilch. Hopefully someone who enjoys ATCs found them and they weren’t totally destroyed!

So with fingers crossed, I am joining Roni’s swap again and this time hoping for a better outcome. I’ve made 15 cards so far and hope to get another 15 done before it’s time to send them. We can make no more of five alike, so I’ve done five sets of similar cards. The first are called “Definition Birds.”

bird definition card

The backgrounds are Distress Inks, applied directly to the card and then squirted with water; an easy and fun technique. The bird images are by Artchix Studio and the definitions are from a sheet of pet-themed scrapbook paper.

bird definition set

The next set uses backgrounds made by “pouncing” Distress pads onto the paper and then squirting with water. A bit of a different look, and just as easy and fun. The images are again by Artchix Studio. I call this series “Signs of Spring.”

signs of spring card

(Shhh…don’t tell anyone, but the red eyes on those birds are kind of creeping me out!) I added mulberry paper, lace and some little flowers to each card.

signs of spring set

And finally, art I drew myself! These mermaids are done with colored pencil, ink and chalks.

mermaid card

I’m currently working on another hand-drawn set, this time in graphite; hopefully I’ll get five of them done before the deadline. I LOVE ATCS!

mermaid set

Leave a Reply

