The Final Challenge!

It is with more than a bit of sadness that I post my very last project for the very last Compendium of Curiosities challenge. It has been so much fun to take part in these challenges, get inspiration from the Curiosity Crew and see how other artists interpret the techniques. Linda has been an amazing hostess and I’ve had a great time getting to “know” the talented gals who inspire us with their beautiful projects. Oftimes these challenges were just the kick in the pants I needed when the muse had fled and I was feeling less than creative. I will miss them so much!

Clearly, Tim Holtz needs to write another book ASAP so we can do it all again. đŸ™‚

This, the very last challenge, is sponsored by the Funkie Junkie Boutique, and all you have to do to win a great prize is create something using the Monoprint Stencil technique, as shown on page 48 in Compendium of Curiosities III. This was a fun and easy technique; once I got the right amount of water in the second step – that part was a bit tricky! Fortunately I have many, many blank tags, and as they are tough little guys, you can add layers or paint over “mistakes” and still have something great to show for your efforts.

I used Tim’s Burlap stencil for this challenge, along with Distress Inks in Spiced Marmalade, Picked Raspberry, Mermaid Lagoon, Shabby Shutters and Fossilized Amber. I only just bought the Fossilized Amber while on a road trip to New Hampshire last week, so it was great to have a reason to try it out right away! I picked the two tags that came out the best, glued them to a chipboard backing and used them as the cover for a little book.

On our way to New Hampshire, we stayed one night at a lovely, rustic campground/marina in South Carolina, where I gathered lots of natural souvenirs: shells, feathers, pine cones, flowers, and my favorite find: the wings of a butterfly that look almost exactly like this one.

butterfly tag book 1

I’ve been enamored with beaded bindings ever since I tried my first one a few months ago, and the butterfly beads fit really well on this little book. I used two colors of velvet ribbon for the binding to coordinate with the tags and filled it with patterned papers from K&Company (this line is called Abrianna).

butterfly tag book 2

butterfly tag book 3

Every time I look at the butterfly on the cover, I’m reminded of that beautiful marina in South Carolina, with its blue skies, scented pines, inviting lake and warm breeze. I think this book will be perfect to showcase photos from our trip!

Thank you, Linda, and thank you, Curiosity Crew, for your friendly encouragement and inspiration these past few months. I have enjoyed every moment!

butterfly tag book 4

8 Responses to “The Final Challenge!”

  1. candycolwell Says:

    This mini book is absolutely gorgeous! I adore the papers you’ve used. They are bright and cheery. Your front cover is so beautifully done. Your mono printing is a fabulous blend of color and pattern to tie in all of the other pages. Your butterfly in the framed square is a perfect focal point. I also love your butterfly beads on your binding. Lately, I have been fascinated, almost consumed, with making a book or journal and the different bindings. The beads add a lot and I love that look. Finally, I wanted to sincerely thank you so much for sharing your art on our CC3 challenges. You are so talented and I always loved seeing your creations. I also always enjoyed your sweet comments. I am sure you know how nice it is to get positive feedback for your work and to know that your efforts are really touching someone.

  2. Melissa Merritt Says:

    Super cute book. Love the butterfly framed.

  3. annettegreen264 Says:

    Oh, this lovely book makes me so happy with those bright cheery colors and your fabulous mono print tags in the background. Like Candy, I’ve been consumed with bindings and books lately. Pinterest and I have been spending a lot of time together! Thanks for joining us once again in the CC3 Challenge. It may be over, but we’re not going anywhere!

  4. cherylspaperartz Says:

    Sweetie, this is just lovely!! I LOVE mini books and this one is a mixed media delight. Your mono print is perfect. Thank you for blessing us with your art. I look forward to more on this creative road we’re traveling together. Though we’ve completed CC3C, keep you eyes open, we’re not done!!

  5. Anita Houston Says:

    Gorgeous little book! LOVE the technique used on the cover and pages, and love the multi colored look! AND, LOVE the two tiered tag cover…so unique and original! Thanks so much for joining us on the last challenge at CC3C!!!

  6. Chary Says:

    Wow I love this mini book!! So cute and clever!!

  7. yblair Says:

    Eeek…this book is GORGEOUS! LOVE LOVE LOVE every little detail of the cover!!! Thanks for joining in at CC3C!

  8. For the Birds | Studio Rose Says:

    […] of Curiosities challenges hosted by the lovely Linda Ledbetter, and it turned out really cute. So I started with that idea, only this time, as I’ve been madly into sewing lately, I […]

Leave a Reply

