Archive for July 17th, 2015

Compendium of Curiosities Challenge #32

July 17, 2015

We are getting SO CLOSE to the end of these exciting and inspiring challenges, and I for one will be very sad when they are over! We’ve been working our way, via Linda Ledbetter’s wonderful site, through Tim Holtz’s latest book, Compendium of Curiosities, Volume III. This time we are turning to page 59 and learning how to play with Frosted Film. There are prizes to be won – the sponsor of this challenge is the Funkie Junkie Boutique, and Tim has also generously donated some amazing products for one lucky artist!

I found this particular challenge…well, challenging. I’ve never worked with the Frosted Film before and was happy to learn it’s sparkly! Sparkly is right up my alley. Frosted Film is a self-adhesive thin sheet that can be applied to many surfaces and colored with alcohol inks and used with die cuts.

After some experimentation, I was able to create two beautiful rosettes using Tim’s die with the Frosted Film and one other “ingredient,” which I cannot name – but if you get your own copy of Tim’s book you’ll see exactly what it is! ๐Ÿ™‚

The rosettes are sparkly and translucent and were made even more beautiful with the addition of some Platinum and Copper Stickles. There might also be a wispy cat hair or two, which is only fitting, given the theme of my project, and not at all surprising, given that I had considerable “help” from Taz in my studio today.

cat tags close

I decided to treat the rosettes like flowers and cut them some leaves from the Frosted Film as well. The rosettes were used on tags with images of flowery cat silhouettes. I made the tag backgrounds with alcohol inks using a technique I learned waaaaaay back in Compendium of Curiosities Volume 1!

cat tag blue

I added several layers of Tissue Tape to the bottom of the tag so the leaves would show up better and outlined them with a Sharpie fine-line pen. A butterfly die cut and my favorite translucent gold ribbon finished each tag.

cat tag gold

I wish the camera could show better the sparkly beauty of the Frosted Film elements; they are stunning in person! This was a fun challenge and I can’t wait to see what we’re doing next!

cat tags 1

Want more inspiration for using Frosted Film? Check out Linda’s site for amazingly beautiful projects from the Curiosity Crew!