Compendium of Curiosities Challenge #25

Whew – it’s been awhile since I’ve entered one of Linda’s fun Compendium of Curiosities challenges; been so busy with other projects and, ya know, life gets in the way sometimes even if all we really want to do is sit down and create! Every two weeks, a new challenge is issued as we work our way through Tim Holtz’s Compendium of Curiosities III book. Anyone can join in at any time!

The challenge this time is sponsored by the Inspiration Emporium, who always generously offer a $50 gift certificate, which is so amazing! I love shopping with them and they have a BUNCH of Tim Holtz stuff, so check ’em out!

We are using Tim’s Frameworks dies in our creations for Challenge #25 and what fun this turned out to be. I had to visit the Curiosity Crew and really study their work to get some ideas as I was fresh out of ’em at first! It’s always so interesting to see how several different artists use a specific method or material. I had an idea when I started that turned out completely different at the end!

Here are the materials I used for coloring:

steampunk necklace materials

See those little hexagons at the bottom? I used the Honeycomb die, which looks like this:

frameworks die

The hexagons are the leftover pieces that pop out of the frame. I decided to make mine look metallic, so I adhered metal tape onto black cardstock and ran it through the Sizzix machine. Ohhh, shiny silver! It looked really cool, but I wanted some color. I used the alcohol inks to dye all the little hexagons that popped out as well as the frame. Then I dabbed the frame with Antiqued Bronze Distress Paint to give it an aged look. Still didn’t know what I was going to do with it, and then I got to thinking, why not play around with the shape a little? I started cutting away some of the frame and ended up with a curvy shape that reminded me of a necklace. BOOM! A NECKLACE!

So I was off and running. I glued the frame to a piece of grungeboard to make it sturdy, then popped the colored hexagons into the spaces and added the Rusty Hinge Distress Glitter to each to tone down the metallic shine. I adhered a Tim Holtz Trinket Pin to each edge of the frame with E6000 glue in order to attach a chain. It looked all right at that point, but something was missing. Then I thought, why not make it Steampunk? I happened to have gears in two different designs that would fit in the hexagons exactly. That was just what it needed!

steampunk necklace closeup

I colored a Tim Holtz wings charm with the Antiqued Bronze Distress Paint and rubbed on some permanent black ink to age it, then adhered that to the bottom of the frame, which really jazzed it up. I then added a metal corner brad and a Tim Holtz tiny paperclip below the wings so I could hang a jump ring to add a Steampunk gear charm I had in my stash. I used the Marvy Metallics and more Distress Stickles to color the charm to match the necklace.

steampunk necklace 3

The little wings on the Trinket Pins are brads that started out bright gold; I also colored them with the Distress Paint and now they match perfectly.

steampunk necklace 1

I had totally planned to make a paper project when I started. I am not a jewelry maker by any means (despite that I made earrings for one of the earlier Compendium challenges!) and I almost never wear jewelry myself. But I’ve really been into Steampunk themes lately and the necklace almost seemed to make itself!

steampunk necklace 2

Won’t you join us at the Compendium Challenges? It’s so much fun and you can hop in at any time! I’m so glad I was able to participate in the Frameworks challenge; it was a blast!

15 Responses to “Compendium of Curiosities Challenge #25”

  1. Shari T. Says:

    Hi Lisa! I just had to come over from CC3 #25 after seeing this AWESOME steampunky necklace that you created and say WOW!! πŸ™‚ What a clever use of the Honeycomb Frameworks die to create this amazing piece! I’m going to call this one now–WINNER!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Good Luck!! XOXO-Shari

  2. annettegreen264 Says:

    HOLY SMOKES! This is amaZING! Love what you’ve done for this challenge. So, who gets this fabulous necklace then? Wish it were me!!

  3. Rosann R. Barnes Says:

    WOW … what an amazing necklace !!!

  4. Susan Mostek Says:

    All I can say is “Wow”! This is truly one of the most creative ways to use the frameworks die that I have seen! Every detail is so amazing and beautiful! Thanks so much for joining us for this challenge!

  5. Mandy Welch Says:

    This is SOOOO Cool!!!

  6. Stefania Says:

    Absolutely fantastic!

  7. rubyacraft Says:

    Love the look!

  8. Kimberly Cobb Says:

    Your necklace is beautiful and so creative. What an innovative use of the Framework die…Well Done!

  9. Linda Ledbetter Says:

    Holy rockets, Lisa! This is incredible!!!

  10. Marjie Kemper Says:

    Shazaaaam! This is fantastic, Lisa. Thanks for sharing it with us at CC3C!

  11. yblair Says:

    Thud….i just fell off my chair!!! holy smokes. I can’t even bring a coherent sentence to mind. This is beyond fabulous! Thanks for joining us at CC3C!

  12. soozyb2013 Says:

    Everyone has stolen my words, all except this one, superkalafragalisticexpelladoshous!!!!

  13. Holly M. Says:

    I am completely blown away by this necklace! I can’t find the words to praise your creation.

  14. Acorncrafts Says:

    I am a steampunk addict! I just love what you have made and think I need to make myself a necklace of sorts with cogs too. Thanks for the inspiration.

  15. Maura Says:

    This is just brilliant!! Congratulations on winning at CC3C!

Leave a Reply

