Adore!

So it’s already time for Challenge #19 over at the Compendium of Curiosities III challenge at Linda Ledbetter’s, where there is always a ton of fun and inspiration! There’s plenty of time to jump in and join us. Need motivation? Besides all that inspiration, there are great prizes to be won; this time the sponsor is the Inspiration Emporium, and I can tell you from personal experience that shopping there is amazing; they have just about everything Tim Holtz-related and they ship quickly, too!

For Challenge #19, we are turning to page 66 in our Tim-nals (HA!) – aka, the third volume of the Compendium of Curiosities – and learning the Frayed Fabric technique.

I will admit at the outset that I stole ideas from two of the “Curiosity Crew” this time; using a Burlap Panel for my background, as did Susan Mostek, and adding some swipes of Distress Ink (in my case, Tea Dye) to the fabric itself, just like Yvonne Blair. Thanks so much for the inspiration, gals!

Awhile back, I had printed some pretty images of little flower fairy girls onto fabric for a project, and used all but a few. I decided to use one of these as my main image so that I wouldn’t have to use any paper in this fabric project.  (I did end up using mulberry paper in the background, though!

frayed fabric 4

I had some black & white gingham fabric in my stash from when I made sachets a couple years ago; they were already cut into squares for sachets, so I had to get a little creative with those. And of course, I had to have a flower! I put it together from three different sets of petals and rubbed them with Old Paper and Tea Dye Distress Inks to make them look old.

frayed fabric 3I used the beautiful butterfly fabric and sewed a few straight parallel lines, a big “X” and a fancy zig-zag around the edges. (Super fun!) Layered on the gingham (also frayed) and the fabric image, which I sewed down on each corner, then added two colors of mulberry paper, a bit of lace and some Tim Holtz Tissue Tape. The final touch was a Tim Holtz ornate plate rubbed with a bit of cream-colored acrylic paint; I used the same paint along the edges of the burlap canvas, along with more Tea Dye ink.

frayed fabric 1

I think I could get addicted to these burlap panels! They are so much fun to decorate and such a great background for so many looks. Can’t wait to see how everyone interprets the Frayed Fabric challenge!

9 Responses to “Adore!”

  1. cherylspaperartz Says:

    Well, that’s just brilliant, Miss Lisa! Your panel has just the right rustic/feminine balance and the print of the little girl is adorable. I am ROTFL at that Tim-nal comment!! You’re a hoot.

  2. candycolwell Says:

    Hi Lisa. This is such a lovely little shabby chic burlap panel. I love all of your choices for fabrics and laces that you’ve blended together to create such a beautiful piece of art. Your little butterfly girl is so sweet and I think that Tim’s butterfly with fabric was a perfect selection for this! I also love your ornate place “adore” adornment that you’ve added. Thanks so much for joining us at CC3C. ❤ Candy

  3. janhill10 Says:

    Just beautiful, love the colours and layering x

  4. annettegreen264 Says:

    Oh my goodness, this is SO sweet. I love that fabric image so much and your use of the technique is perfect on your burlap panel. All the colors and layering and texture are wonderful.

  5. Clareene Forbes Says:

    Darling job! Love the little angel. I especially love the little flower you made to match the one in the picture. Those tea bags sure do come in handy! Great job…

  6. Hels Sheridan Says:

    Such a pretty creation, thanks for joining in with the CC3C x

  7. Julie Lavalette Says:

    This is absolutely gorgeous, love it.
    Julie x

  8. Shari T. Says:

    Hi Lisa! I just had to come by and become a new follower!! I’m popping over from the CC3 #19 challenge and I just had to say I love what you’ve made for the challenge 🙂 And now that I’m looking around your blog—LOVE your rag bag and rag quilt throws!! Now those are the kind of throws that I can put together! I love the rough edges and ‘imperfect’ stitching!! I love these!! I’m so glad that I came over and found you!! Good Luck at CC3 #19!! XOXO-Shari

  9. Yvonne Blair Says:

    Oh my gosh…I love your panel! It is so sweet and the colors are perfection! Love love love the way you incorporated the Frayed Fabric challenge into your art! So stinking cute!!! Hugs and thanks for joining us at CC3C!

Leave a Reply

