Love is in the Air

It’s only January, but I’m already looking ahead to Valentine’s Day. It’s right up my alley with the lace, flowers and frou-frou, and what better theme for the Compendium of Curiosities III Challenge over at Linda Ledbetter’s? This time we are making Pocket Pages, and they fit perfectly into the Worn Covers (as they are designed to do!), so I put mine into a Worn Cover that I’d embellished with paper from Tim Holtz’s “Menagerie” line and some pretty tissue tape.

I was only able to find the tag-sized pages at my local store, but they are quite versatile. I thought about sewing across the pages to make smaller pockets, but decided instead to make background sheets and glue my ephemera onto those; then it was easy enough to slip them inside the pockets. As I’m doing a Valentine’s theme, I first raided my image stash for a vintage photo of a couple in love and a sweet rendering of Cupid himself. Next I made a rosette from crepe paper and glitter paper using the Tim Holtz rosette die and enhanced it with Stickles. The final touches were bits of lace and a banner made of air-dry clay which I rubbed with Tea Dye Distress Ink.

valentine pocket pages left

The middle pocket contains a decorated manila tag, and I hinged a third pocket onto it so it folds out of the book. In the third pocket, I made the background with the same crepe paper I used for the rosette and added my loving couple enhanced with Stickles, a Tim Holtz ticket and sweet red paper flower.

valentine pocket pages right

These photos aren’t the best because I had to take them indoors after dark; I got busy with other projects and finished up this challenge at the last minute!

valentine pocket pages 1

We’re only on Challenge 18, so there’s plenty of time to jump in and join us at any time! Lots of fun prizes to be won (this week’s sponsor is the Funkie Junkie Boutique), but for me, the best part is seeing how the Curiosity Crew and the other participants put their own unique spin on the challenges!

valentine pocket pages 2

2 Responses to “Love is in the Air”

  1. Clareene Forbes Says:

    Loved the use of your pockets. I’m ready for Valentines too. Great colors. Loved your album too!…

  2. marjiekemper Says:

    Beautiful use of the pockets! Love how you carried the pink across, and all the embellishments. Thanks for joining us at CC3C!

Leave a Reply

