Compendium Challenge #17

I haven’t been able to participate in the last couple of challenges over at the incredible Linda Ledbetter’s blog (long stories, none interesting!), but I definitely had to make time for the newest, to use Tim Holtz’s Woodlands trees and/or Tinsel Twine in a project.

For some time now, I’ve been collecting vintage porcelain/ceramic vases, planters and ashtrays in the shape of swans, cherubs, deer and other pretty little creatures in sweet pastel colors. I love the look of shabby chic for Christmas, so I decided to fill some of the vessels with bottle brush trees with bead garland and mica-topped cotton batting for snow.

For this challenge, I picked three of my favorite swan-shaped pretties and used the Woodlands trees.

I can’t share how I colorized them (check out the directions on page 60 of Tim’s excellent Compendium of Curiosities, Vol. III), but it was fun and quite satisfying!

swan 1

The stars are from a pack of confetti; just the right size for the top of the tiny trees.

swan 2

I typed up the banners and cut them out, then outlined with Stickles. (Because everything’s better with Stickles!) On this next one, I also added Stickles to the star.

swan 3

This particular swan had a little chip on his neck, so I wrapped some tinsel around to disguise it. Unfortunately I couldn’t find Tim’s tinsel in my local stores, so I made do with a fancy yarn from my stash that kind of looks like tinsel!

So much inspiration over at Linda’s; the Curiosity Crew does Christmas so well! There’s plenty of time to join in the fun, and you can even win a wonderful prize from the sponsor, Inspiration Emporium! I was overjoyed to win this prize for Challenge #13 and had the BEST time shopping there. They have an amazing array of Tim’s (and other) products; I was thrilled to get some of his beautiful fabric and can’t wait to use it in my next quilt!

3 swans

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Compendium Challenge #17”

  1. Hels Sheridan Says:

    Simply stunning, I love the delicacy of the colours you have picked which work perfectly with the beautiful swans… gorgeousness… Thanks for playing along with the CC3 Challenge x

  2. candycolwell Says:

    Lisa… Your sweet little Christmas trees resting in those precious little porcelain dishes are such a great example of how to use Tim’s Woodlands trees. Such a nice job! Thanks so much for sharing with all of us at CC3C. ❤ Candy

  3. Karen Says:

    Cute trees Lisa! Love the colours you have used. Karen.x

  4. annettegreen264 Says:

    I absolutely ADORE these, Lisa! Those porcelain swans with your lovely pastel trees are just perfect. LOVE!!!!

Leave a Reply

