I’m Totally Ready for Christmas Now

Okay, I’m really not. But my desk at work will be quite festive very soon! I went shopping with my BFF, Terri, and found this beautiful sparkly reindeer at Michael’s. Given his weight, I think he’s made of resin, with a burlap texture and a silvery-gold coating of glitter. Reindeer are my favorite icons of the holiday season, and with a 40% off sale and a 25% coupon to boot, I simply could not resist him!

In the next aisle, we found Christmas picks on sale, and I chose one in shades of green and indigo with glittery accents. I didn’t have ribbon to match, so I dyed white seam binding with Distress Ink reinkers (Worn Lipstick and Broken China) to make the perfect color ribbon for the reindeer’s neck. After tying a fluffy bow and adding leaves and berries from the pick, I glued an Artchix Studio image onto a tag I’d colored with Distress Ink and inserted an eyelet so I could tie it on with a length of green embroidery floss.

close up deer

Couldn’t resist adding a shawl of wide satiny lace around the deer’s shoulders, just for a little added extra shabby chic flair. The photo doesn’t do him justice at all; he’s really such a beauty!

deer plain

While photographing him, I ran across a dish of purple glass pebbles that had come out of a heart-shaped bottle I’d found at the thrift store a few weeks ago. I had left them outside in the rain and weather because they were covered with a yucky oily substance from the bottle. Now nice and clean, they seemed perfect for my deer to stand in. Serendipity!

deer pebbles

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “I’m Totally Ready for Christmas Now”

  1. Terri Says:

    Oh he turned out so perfectly! He is so regal and lovely! He is a he, right. I mean, check out that rack! LOL! Antlers. So what is his name? Why didn’t you make me buy one? ; )

Leave a Reply

