Spooky Time

For the past couple weeks, I’ve been enjoying the very first online art retreat sponsored by the Art Is…You folks. I had been reading about their retreats for a few years now and always wanted to attend one, but they’ve just been a little too far away. Now there’s an online retreat, and it’s been really fun! We’re learning via video, chatting in a forum and taking part in challenges and swaps. One of the best parts was a box that arrived ahead of time filled with all manner of artsy goodies!

The swap is for Halloween or fall themed tags. We were sent tags in our box to use, if we wished, but were also allowed to use larger ones for the swap. I decided on the larger size and made two sets of three. They’re all similar, design-wise, but I used different images and color combinations for each.

owl tag 1

The background was made by covering the tag with either Spiced Marmalade or Dried Marigold Distress ink, then splashing with water droplets to create a mottled effect. I used an “ink blot” stamp and black Memories ink to create a nice overall texture.

owl tag 2

The images are mounted on corrugated cardboard from which I tore the top layer, then painted either purple with forest green highlights, or forest green with purple highlights.

owl tag 3

The black with white swirls layer is washi tape, and below I’ve added black Dresden which I covered with Versamark ink and then dusted with either Interference Blue or Interference Purple Pearl-Ex powder. The effect, which is difficult to see in a photo, is a soft metallic glow.

owl tag 4

Amazingly, I did not use Stickles on these, given that I use Stickles at the slightest opportunity, but I made up for it by die-cutting the letters from glitter cardstock using a Tim Holtz alphabet die. Seam binding ribbon and a couple of steel grey eyelets in the top corners were the finishing touch. These were so much fun to make and I’m excited to see the spooky creations I receive in return!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

