CCC3, Challenge #7

Another two weeks has flown by and we’re on challenge #7 over at lovely Linda Ledbetter’s! We are making our way through Tim Holtz’s third Compendium of Curiosities book and having a wonderful time.  Join us, won’t you? There are prizes to be won and discounts to enjoy; this time the sponsor is Inspiration Emporium. Lots of fun goodies there and the discount makes it even more fun!

We have turned to page 46 in the Compendium and are learning the Painted Industrial technique. This lends itself so beautifully to Steampunk themes, and Steampunk was my initial plan. But as we all know, sometimes the best-laid plans go sideways during the process!

I started by making two pieces using Tim’s Painted Industrial technique, but added my own little twist. I decided that, rather than the cool tones of pewter or steel, I’d like to warm things up a bit.  So after the initial steps, I added a layer of Bronze Metallic Distress Paint and a few splatters of pale minty green acrylic paint to mimic copper with a rusty patina. I used one of Tim’s Texture Fades embossing folders to add some Victorian-style flair.

metal tape panel

The bottom piece was made with a different embossing folder; I don’t remember who makes that one. In any event, I didn’t end up using it in the final project, but it will be ready for another one. I just love this technique!

Instead of a tag this time, I decided to make a book, since that’s my favorite thing to do and I love practical items.  (Also, the tags were starting to take over every available space!) I had planned to hand-bind one from scratch, but while looking for something to use as book boards, I ran across a burlap-covered ring-bound journal I found a few weeks ago at Joann Fabrics. Burlap seemed like a great background for the metallic piece, and instantly I decided to switch from Steampunk to what I like to call “Boho Rustic.” (Is there such a thing? If not, there should be!)

I found a piece of corrugated cardboard I’d already peeled the top layer off of; it was just a matter of painting and trimming it to coordinate with my chosen image, a beautiful butterfly collage. The painted industrial panel became the perfect layer behind it, and after adding my usual girly embellishments (flowers and ribbon and lace, oh my!), it was just a matter of choosing fun papers for the inside of the book.  I distressed the edges of the book and added Walnut Stain Distress Ink to darken it up a little.

burlap bfly 1

 

The design team gals at Linda’s have really stepped up to this challenge and done amazing work! Even if you don’t join the challenges (and why wouldn’t you?), it’s worth a visit to the blog for the eye candy alone. Hope to see you there!

burlap bfly 2

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “CCC3, Challenge #7”

  1. Yvonne Blair Says:

    I love the look you achieved and I love how it pops the butterfly on your book! It is gorgeous! What a great use of this technique. As Tim says…”it’s all about play” and it is so fun to experiment and see what happens! Love the colors you chose! Fantastic!!!! Thanks for playing along with us at CC3C!

  2. Susan Mostek Says:

    Great idea to use it on a book! I love the way you colored it all and how the frame turned out! Gorgeous piece!

  3. candycolwell Says:

    Lisa…I love it! Your book cover is awesome! The painted industrial square that you’ve matted behind that stunning butterfly center really looks great. A shame you had to cover up your painted industrial technique as you nailed it. 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing your art with us at CC3C. ❤ Candy

  4. Terry Says:

    Lisa, this is such a gorgeous book cover. Your painted industrial is so rich and I love that butterfly!

  5. Lisa H Says:

    This is beautiful!! great job

  6. Chary Says:

    This is so pretty!!! I love all the different textures with the soft colors of the butterfly.

  7. mlpendleton Says:

    Gorgeous project! I love the beautiful frame and the stunning butterfly! What a work of art!

  8. pinkleart Says:

    beautiful book… I love how you added in the rich colour tones to make it unique… Thanks for playing along with the CC3 Challenge x

Leave a Reply

