CCC 3 Challenge 3

Tea roses!  I’m running a little late in this challenge because, perhaps foolishly, I decided a couple of weeks ago that I wasn’t going to “peek ahead” at any of the challenges before we came to them.  Well, here came Challenge 3, Tea Roses, and I was totally unprepared, because I didn’t have Tim’s pine cone die!

Well, the gauntlet had been thrown and so my plans changed 180 degrees.  I went through the Compendium with a fine-tooth comb, wrote down everything we would be using that I didn’t already have, and made Joanns.com a little richer.  Fortunately they were having a really great sale and a shipping deal, so I didn’t have to mortgage the farm.  Unfortunately, I had to order the die from a separate vendor and it didn’t arrive until yesterday. Yikes, totally last minute!  So I spent part of the night learning how to make adorable tea roses (there’s a bit of a learning curve). As I was cutting various papers during my experiments, I noticed that the leftover paper from the cutout would make a really cute frame. This one was made with a paper napkin adhered to cardstock.

ccc pinecone tag close

I made a tag with this pretty girl in the frame on a background of Broken China Distress Ink that I’d squirted with water to texturize, and layered on a torn bit of Tim Holtz’s sheet music tissue. Because I’m apparently a bit of a masochist, I decided to make the tea rose using one of the more difficult materials to manipulate: vellum. Remember vellum? Back in the late 90’s, this stuff was ALL the rage. I have a giant stash of it that almost never gets used. Well, why the heck not? It’s pretty and versatile and adds a touch of softness and femininity to any project.

ccc pinecone tag

The leaves were created with a Martha Stewart punch, and I added some dots of Worn Lipstick Distress Stickles to the lace. I dyed seam binding for the top hole with Worn Lipstick and Vintage Photo Distress Stains.

Challenge #3 is being sponsored by Inspiration Emporium, and you can get a nice discount just by visiting the lovely Linda Ledbetter’s challenge blog! Why not stick around and join the challenges; we are having so much fun!

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “CCC 3 Challenge 3”

  1. Susan Mostek Says:

    Beautiful tag! That little girl looks like a rose, so what better photo to use with your gorgeous roses! Well done!

  2. Candy Colwell Says:

    Beautiful tag! I love the laces, that gorgeous sweet vintage image of the little girl, your use of Tim’s Tissue Tape and your gorgeous mottled background. Your sweet little tea rose is such a lovely color and really pops on this tag. Thanks for sharing your art with us at CC3C. ❤ Candy

  3. Cindy McMath Says:

    Lisa, this is absolutely stunning! Love the colours you’ve used and wonderful composition as always. Cindy 🙂

  4. candycolwell Says:

    Thank you so much for the comments you left on my blog! They are much appreciated. ❤ Candy

Leave a Reply

