Compendium of Curiosities III

Wow, there’s a third Compendium of Curiosities book by Tim Holtz already!  (How did I miss the second one?  Seriously.)

Linda Ledbetter hosts Compendium challenges for each book; I took part in the first one and it was super, super fun, plus I ended up with a whole slew of tags demonstrating each technique.  Unfortunately I missed the second challenge, but the third one is just getting started and I am raring to go!

In this challenge there are prizes galore and a discount at Inspiration Emporium for anyone who participates (visit Linda’s page for the code). I’m very much looking forward to learning new techniques and decided to make tags again this time so I can add them to the original ones.

The first technique we are doing is called Paint Marbling, which is on page 43 of the Compendium of Curiosities III.  It is WAY too much fun, and I used WAY too much paint, which turned out to be a good thing, because I now have six tags to use in future projects!  Each tag ended up just a little lighter than the previous ones, which is great; you get to choose bold OR pastel colors, whichever goes best with your chosen elements.

painted marble

 

I put little blobs of Distress Stickles in the holes of the cotton lace and they hadn’t yet dried when I took the photo, but they’ll eventually be flatter and less glossy looking.  (I use Stickles on about 95% of my projects.  Note: I do NOT have a Stickles addiction!  I can quit anytime!)

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Compendium of Curiosities III”

  1. candycolwell Says:

    Hello Studio Rose. Your marbled tag is very pretty! Love the colors and the sweet sentiment and angel you have included in your design. Thanks for joining us at CC3C. ❤ Candy

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Very sweet tag… the colors are soft and yummy… thanks for sharing this with us… Love, Light and Peace…Bonnie

  3. candycolwell Says:

    Thank you for such a sweet comment you left in my blog. It is much appreciated. ❤ Candy

  4. pinkleart Says:

    ~Great creation, loving the soft feminine look you achieved on your tag… Thanks for playing along with the CC3 challenge x

Leave a Reply

