French Flower Girls

The latest swap at Artchix is for garden-themed ATCs.  I join every Artchix swap I have time for, as the returns are always amazing and Helga always very generously includes some lovely gifts for the participants.  I love adding to my (admittedly huge) ATC collection!  (Does that make me an ATC hoarder?  Hmmm.)

flower girl atc closeup

 

I started with one of my favorite Tim Holtz background techniques: cover the card with a good layer of Distress Ink (I used crushed olive) and then flick water droplets onto the surface.  Wait a few seconds, then blot up the water.  It’s quick and easy and always looks great!  I also sponged worn lipstick ink around the edges to add some depth.   A touch of lace with Stickles accents and a couple strips of flower themed Washi tape finished off the background for these beautiful Artchix garden ladies.

flower girl atcs

 

I had to think for a few minutes to decide what phrase to use; looked up some garden quotes (too long) and while I liked “flower girl,” it didn’t sit quite right – until I decided to write it in French.  I think it adds just the right touch of elegance – and mystery, for those who don’t speak the language!

Leave a Reply

