Ranger Spring Challenge

Ah, the vagaries of the Inter-webs!  Some time ago, I had subscribed to receive email notification whenever the Ranger Ink blog was updated.  At some point, for some unknown reason, I stopped getting notifications.  I’ve signed up several times since; alas, that coveted email never arrives.  So I have to remember to keep checking for new posts, and with my brain not working as well as it should due to being on night shift, that doesn’t always happen!

So, I missed the Valentine’s Day challenge, which makes me very sad.  But now there’s a Spring challenge and all is right with the world!

The colors they chose are ones that I don’t often use together: blue, purple, yellow and green.  (Now give me some pink, and I’m all over the rest of ’em!)

I decided to make a little tag book filled with pretty papers by K&Company.  I chose Distress Inks that most closely matched the colors in the challenge: Dusty Concord, Mowed Lawn, Salty Ocean and Mustard Seed.

The first three colors were blended onto the tag, then I flung water droplets onto the surface to make a cool bleached-look background.  A vintage lady printed on satin fabric was layered onto Tim Holtz sheet music tissue and a layered flower was colored with Mustard Seed and enhanced with Dusty Concord.  Vintage Photo Distress Stickles made pretty flourish additions,  along with round butterfly stickers in appropriate colors.  The final touch was a length of seam binding colored with Mustard Seed Distress Ink and strung through the hole in the tag.

ranger challenge sr

I can’t wait to see what everyone else has made with these colors!

Leave a Reply

