It’s Spooky Time!

Well, almost.  The craft stores are filled with Halloween goodies and it won’t be long before the nip of fall is in the air.  It’s time to get started on spook-tacular books, and what better way to get in the mood than to make Halloween tags?

I joined a swap on the All Things Tim Yahoo group, which is made up of devotees of the divine Tim Holtz.   Each of twelve participants was assigned a certain tag size and orientation, and when the hostess receives them, they’ll be attached to a canvas in a particular configuration.  The swap is based on the “Creative Chaos” project by Tim Holtz and Jennifer McGuire.  (Isn’t it lovely?  The Halloween version should be amazing!)

Alas, I don’t have any of Tim’s Halloween stamps, but I was able to use some of his techniques in making my tags, including one of my favorites: the tissue tape rosette.  I had some sticky-backed skull charms left over from last year (I believe K&Company makes these) and they make great centers for the rosettes.

The background is Halloween scrapbook paper with Vintage Photo Distress ink on the edges to make it look old & grungy.  And naturally no project is complete without some sparkle in the form of Stickles!

Since I only had enough skull charms to do half the tags, I did the rest with orange skull gems glued on top of Tim’s Halloween Muse Tokens.

I don’t know why lime green and purple became Halloween colors, but I have to say I really like the combination!  🙂

3 Responses to “It’s Spooky Time!”

  1. julie4kw Says:

    Lisa, these are awesome!! So fun and creative. I’m in groups 1 and 5, so I’m very happy to know I’ll be receiving one of them 🙂

  2. bearcrazyman Says:

    Yeah, Im in group 1 too… Fantastic Tags.

  3. Stacy Says:

    Wonderful Job! Can’t wait to see them in person. Thanks for participating.

Leave a Reply

