File Folders Transformed!

So I have this collection of decorative file folders, which I don’t…actually…use.  It started when I spotted a package of bird-themed folders by Cavallini while shopping at Barnes & Noble quite some time ago and just couldn’t resist them.  After that, I started picking up various decorative folders here and there, with some crazy, half-brained idea of perhaps actually using them one day.

Well, the fact is, I already have a self-contained file folder case that serves our needs well, and don’t particularly have a need for another.   So after successfully creating two books using school folders as the covers, my eye turned speculatively to my file folder collection.  Hmmm…why not?

I chose my favorite Cavallini design, cut the folder in half and reinforced it by gluing on half of a different file folder (one that I didn’t mind wouldn’t show much, as it would be the inside cover).  Then embellished with some nature themed cutouts by K&Company and printouts from a collage sheet by Shabby Cottage Studio.  A length of seam binding serves as a tie closure and I added Tim Holtz tissue tape and K&Company Smash Tape to cover the cut edges.

I sewed in papers by 7 Gypsies (Conservatory) and Pink Paislee (Butterfly Garden), neutral colored cardstock and vintage ledger paper, 48 pages in all.  It’s nice and stuffed!

2 Responses to “File Folders Transformed!”

  1. cathyb Says:

    Great idea – I have the same obsession – file folders – have managed to use a few but now you have given me new ideaS!

  2. Mia Ogden Says:

    This is beautiful and such a good idea with nice folders, cuts down on some of the work too.

Leave a Reply

