Lovin’ the Chains

So we learned a new book-making stitch this past week from the fabulous Mary Ann Moss in her fabulous Full Tilt Boogie class.  (See previous 20-thousand fabulous posts in which I can’t say enough fabulous things about this fabulous class.)

I scored this plain velvet CDV album on Etsy (it was sold along with the “lady” album, out of which I made my first journal,  for a ridiculously low price – which I won’t mention in case anyone wants to firebomb me from jealousy).  It was in great shape for its age and very clean, though once I cut out the block of CDV frames, I discovered someone had reinforced the spine with duct tape!  That being done, I didn’t have to add any reinforcement, though I decided to wrap a hanky around the outside edge to give it some pizazz.  Happened to have some seam binding and flowers that went well with the hanky, so it was simple to decorate.  The inside is filled with sketchbook paper and a few smaller pages made from Tim Holtz kraft resist paper to give it more “heft” since there are only five signatures (I’ve been using ten or more in my previous journals).

Although the chain stitch looks amazing and is fun to do, it was (for me, anyway) a little more difficult than the binding stitch we’ve been using in the class so far.  You have to go into each hole twice this time, and it can be tricky to find the signature hole again, especially if your papers have shifted while you went back and forth between the inside and outside with your sewing.  Still, I think it was well worth the time and effort and am ready to move on to an even more awesome stitch!

7 Responses to “Lovin’ the Chains”

  1. Nancy Lynn Says:

    You did a great job on it. Wish I was that far along. I am still doing the exposed binding technique……working on my 3rd book now.

  2. Barbara Hagerty Says:

    LOVE the hankie, LOVE the velvet, LOVE the flowers, LOVE the stitching…
    I’m twelve shades of green with jealousy! How are you making such amazing things so quickly??? Admit it. You have a team of elves that do this for you overnight while you sleep. You wake up completely fresh, then proceed to write witty blog posts and haikus while the rest of us little people (but not as little as elves) sit drooling on our monitors whilst looking at your pics. I’m right, aren’t I ? Lisa, this is seriously WONDERFUL, and I forgot to say, LOVE the color!

  3. Kelli Says:

    Oh I am just in LUST with that book! Your chains look great to me but I can’t get over the book itself. SO fabulous!

  4. Michele Unger Says:

    Wowzer! That is one pretty journal! Your chains are perfect. Am I sounding bitter? Congratulations!

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Hi Lisa

    Fabulous looking journal; I love the fabric you have used to cover the spine.

    As one who has still to do this binding, the chains look good to me.

    Jan in UK

  6. Holly Says:

    I love how you incorporated the hankie into your journal binding , Lisa. Your chain stitching looks great!

  7. Linda Says:

    looks awesome dear! I love the hankie a lot!! I am finally getting started …I hope! I am gathering papers and hope to get some things rolling finally! your journals are amazing!! great inspiration!

Leave a Reply

