Boogie Oogie Oogie

(Is that song stuck in your head now?)  I’m continuing to madly produce journals while taking Mary Ann Moss’s awesome Full Tilt Boogie class.  It’s really so much fun; in fact, I can safely say it’s the best on-line class I’ve ever taken! 

I used the covers from an antique celluloid album.  The picture on the cover is in pretty good shape, but I had to do some taping of the back cover and the spine was all but gone.  Perfect for this process!  I’d been using black waxed thread for all the journals so far, but thought I’d try this green waxed cord I picked up at Michael’s in their leather department.  It’s not as overtly waxy as the black thread, but it serves the purpose and seems quite sturdy – and I love the color!

As with the first journal, I filled it with beautiful papers; most are from K&Company and Martha Stewart.  It’s super fun to tape them together to make even prettier papers!  I went heavy on the bird themed papers to coordinate with the cover.  This journal has 12 signatures, so it’s nice and fat.  🙂  Here are some of my favorite spreads.

8 Responses to “Boogie Oogie Oogie”

  1. Susie LaFond Says:

    Your journal is gorgeous Lisa. Excellent I would say.

  2. Pat P Says:

    I love it! (and Yes, that song IS stuck in my head now!)

  3. Barbara Hagerty Says:

    Wow Lisa! That’s one of the most gorgeous celluloid covers I’ve seen, and I spent a good chunk of yesterday combing the web and pinning antique albums at Pinterest for inspiration, so I’ve just recently seen tons of them. Love the complimentary papers you’ve chosen with birds, ferns and foliage. Beautiful!

  4. Sue@MyArtsDesire Says:

    Oh!! I love the album you found…birds and violets in celluloid. Just beautiful. The green thread and decorative tapes you used compliment the cover so nicely! Well done! [I linked over from the yahoo group msg] Thanks for sharing this beauty!

  5. Holly Says:

    Lisa, this journal is so lovely! The celluloid cover is beautiful. I love the green binding and the mix of pages you used are great!

  6. Jacqui Says:

    Looks lovely – i would love to see some of your journalled pages

  7. Linda Says:

    I just love it! the cover is quite pretty and I like the green binding thread too! very lovely! Your pages are really great too I esp love the last one here!! you have been a VERY busy chimp!!! hehehe!

  8. Elena Says:

    What beautiful papers and the cover is magnificent. Really nice done.

Leave a Reply

