Vintage Storage

So apparently Tim Holtz has this amazing antique fold-out box in which he keeps his “accoutrements” for travel.  We Tim fans ooohed and ahhhhed when he brought it out during a video demo, and it has been dubbed his “box of goodness.”

Naturally, I HAD to have one.  I couldn’t find one exactly like Tim’s, but the next best thing was a vintage wooden sewing box I found on Ebay.  It works in the same manner as Tim’s, but lacks the sides that fold up.  (The sides don’t really add any storage; they just look cool.)  Not quite the same, but good enough for me.  (I love Ebay!)

In the great Tim tradition, I couldn’t just leave it plain!  I made a special trip to the scrapbook store, where I found paper with a vintage bird design and two 7 Gypsies glass knobs in a wonderful green that really sets off the colors in the paper.  I added black velvet and satiny multi-colored fibers to finish off the edges.

All that’s left to do is fill it with Tim goodness!  🙂

One Response to “Vintage Storage”

  1. The Terrific Tim Tote « Studio Rose Says:

    […] not like I don’t already have a plethora of tote bags, plus my new vintage sewing case (see post below) plus a vintage train case I’d decorated years ago…but I wanted something more […]

Leave a Reply

