Compartments of Cuteness

So awhile back I purchased a Tim Holtz Configurations.  These are sturdy boxes that contain smaller boxes in various sizes.  You can configure them in several different ways using all the boxes, and the sky becomes the limit once you remove one or more boxes.

This is how the Configurations looks when you purchase it:

I stared at mine for several weeks, hesitating to start because of “it has to be perfect or it can’t be started” syndrome.  Which is quite silly, really.  Anything can be repainted or covered up; items can be added or removed, and the Non-Perfection Police went out of business years ago.  So I finally decided to jump right in or I knew I would never get done.  And here’s a tip for anyone else who’s staring at their plain Configurations boxes, paralyzed, like I was:  Pick one special item that you want to showcase, and then gather more items, embellishments and media in colors that will enhance it.  In my case, I decided to showcase this beautiful fairy ballerina ornament I found at the flea market a few months ago.

I had recently purchased Graphic 45’s new “Once Upon a Springtime” papers, and knew they would be perfect to pull together the theme and colors, as fairies are prominently featured.  I had paper flowers that would fit the color scheme, but not much else.  As I dug through my “miscellaneous” drawers, I ran across a ceramic fairy head that I’d purchased years ago, when I used to sell items at craft fairs.  I glued her onto a little stack of grungepaper to give her some height, then “dressed” her in silk flower petals and leaves.  Her little headpiece was part of the silk flower; a clear plastic bit designed to make the petals flare out.  I added some crystal Stickles and a glittery center.  She’s wearing a Stickles necklace.

I needed something to take up a little space next to the ballet fairy, so I cobbled together two inexpensive drop crystal earrings.  I decided I wanted the crystals to be pink, so I colored them with Watermelon alcohol inks.

I found several glass corked bottles in my stash, which I’ve also had for years.  Perfect to hold fairy dust!  I was going to use loose glitter, but I liked the colors of Stickles better.  So I just squirted some into each bottle.  The one on the left was made by combining Antique Linen and Copper.  The others are Cotton Candy and Patina.

I couldn’t find much else in my studio, so I took a little trip to Michael’s and got a nest with birds, a butterfly and a pretty branch with pink buds.  Everything was starting to come together!  I thought I was done with it last night, but found even more things to add this morning.

I love the Idea-ology box feet; they add necessary height and look so elegant.  I needed something for the top, so I embossed a Maya Road chipboard crown and painted it.  I was trying to match the box feet, but couldn’t get the color quite right.

Each individual box was painted (except the lower right one) and the edges covered with tissue tape.  (How I LOVE tissue tape!)  I squirted Antique Linen Distress Stickles into the crevices between each box because they didn’t fit quite snugly enough together.  I tested how the outside cover would look and didn’t like it, so I left that off.  (Now I need to find ideas for using the cover!)  The outside edges of the box were covered with tissue tape and then stippled with Distress Inks in Broken China, Worn Lipstick and Peeled Paint.  The colors wanted to come off the tape onto my hands, so I sprayed the tape with Krylon Matte Finish and that did the trick.

This was super fun!  Now that I’m over the “it has to be perfect or it can’t be started” syndrome, I’m anxious to make more configurations!

11 Responses to “Compartments of Cuteness”

  1. 2ndchance55@att.net Says:

    oh my goodness!! its beautiful!!

  2. amy Says:

    wow I so love this great job!

  3. Victoria Sturdevant Says:

    Fantastic!

  4. Okienurse Says:

    Very nice love all the colors together and the theme is do endearing. Thanks for sharing. Great job!

  5. TaniaA Says:

    Very cute configuration box! I love how girly it is 🙂

  6. Paula Says:

    WOW! It looks pretty and perfect to me! Just gorgeous.

  7. Cindy Says:

    My favorite part are the two flowers in the lower left corner. They are “perfect”!

  8. Christie Hund Says:

    Oh so adorable! I love it!

  9. Kathy Eddy Says:

    This turned out so cute. You did a great job on it. I really enjoy ypur blog each day adn left you something on my blog. Come over and check it out!

  10. Christine Rickert Says:

    Lisa-
    Stopping over here from ATT group. What a clever, beautiful job you did of combining items. Love the pink jewels hanging from “ceiling”nest to dancer and colors you chose. The “feet” definitely add to the delicate look. Great work!

  11. Caroline Says:

    This is lovely, the winged theme and glitter really catch my eye (but then again anything with glitter catches my eye 🙂 This looks perfect for a little girls room.

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

