Compendium of Curiosities #30

Wow, #30 already!  Over at Linda’s, we’ve been learning all the techniques in Tim Holtz’s book, Compendium of Curiosities, one week at a time.  This week we’re learning “altered metal with paint” and let me tell ya, it is super fun!  This was one of the few techniques I had absolutely no problems with and it worked the first time out!  I love the look and don’t imagine any bare metal is going to be safe around me from now on.  🙂

In other news, I’m currently working on pages for a “fat book” swap called Altered Ancestors, in which we’re to alter an old photo of someone on a 4″ page and use Tim Holtz products and techniques to embellish.  We’re to make 11 pages in all, but I made 12.  I always make an extra in case I mess one up at some stage.  Happily, I didn’t mess any up, so I added some layers and embellishments to the extra and made it into a little wall hanging.

I started with a black & white photo and “tinted” it with Distress Inks, a technique I learned in 2005 in a class with The Great One himself.  It’s so much fun!  🙂

2 Responses to “Compendium of Curiosities #30”

  1. Donna Says:

    Both pieces are wonderful! I really like the blue china on metal. Great technique with your photo too.

  2. Linda Ledbetter Says:

    Lisa, both your pieces are so fun and beautiful! The make me feel like spring might actually come some day! I love that paint-altered Ornate Plate. The blue is so pretty, and the butterflies and great little details make this really special.

    Your photo tinting is exceptional! Wow– what a great talent to have!

Leave a Reply

