Compendium of Curiosities #29

Let me tell you, the 29 tags I’ve created for this challenge so far make quite a large pile!  I found a HUGE metal ring at my local scrapbook store to hang them on, and hopefully they’ll all fit once the challenge is done.  What challenge?  Why, the Tim Holtz Compendium of Curiosities challenge over at the amazing and talented Linda’s, of course!  If you haven’t yet picked up Tim’s book, you’re in for a real treat!  We’ve been doing one technique per week since…well, a LONG time ago.  Not 29 weeks, because Linda gave us extra time during the holidays, so at least 31 weeks!  Good grief, how many months is that?  Uh…hmmm.  Seven?  Eight?  (Math is not my strong suit.)

This week we’ve turned to page 50 in our Compendiums and are learning the “weathered wood” technique.  I don’t know how “woody” my little grungeboard panels turned out, but I like them anyway.  Interestingly, the “snow cap” dabber paint was stained by the “vintage photo” Distress ink and turned a pretty pink color as a result.  I chose a mint green background and red highlights to complement the pink shade.

Also interestingly, the Adirondack “red pepper” embossing powder I used on the grunge letters and heart didn’t melt into a solid red color.  Rather, as I heated it, these little pops of white kept bursting to the surface, which gave the final result an effect very much like speckled enamelware:

I didn’t expect that to happen, but I like how it looks!

And of course, no tag is complete without a few generous applications of Stickles.

I also finished up another Valentine tag that I’d started a few days ago.  I made the background by gluing punched hearts onto a manila tag.  Time-consuming?  You betcha!  I like the raised effect, though.

This was also the first time I played with Tim Holtz’s metal foliage pieces.  I stained them with alcohol ink and bent the center petals up for a dimensional look.  A nice finishing touch, I think.   I will definitely use these on more projects in the future!

9 Responses to “Compendium of Curiosities #29”

  1. Kathy Eddy Says:

    This turned out great and I love your valentine tag also. Gotta love Stickles!

  2. Linda S. in NE Says:

    Wow, I love both of your tags. On the second one, I can’t help but notice nary a stray piece or smudge of glue around any of those little hearts. Great job on both.

  3. Barbara M Says:

    I love your Love tag! Very graphic and effective. The weathered wood technique came out very well.

  4. Marlene Moore Says:

    Love both of your tags!

  5. Shelly H. Says:

    Fantastic tags! I wonder why the ep did that? It looks very cool! I love the green background too – perfect shade of vintage green.

  6. Pam Loris Says:

    Both tags are very nice! I think your ‘weathered’ piece looks great. Reminds me of old tin cieling tiles!

  7. Helen Says:

    Great work, both!

  8. Terry Says:

    I think I remember a red enameled pan! Love what you created with the challenge! Both tags are stunning!

  9. Linda Ledbetter Says:

    This is gorgeous, Lisa– both tags are, in fact! I love how you designed your challenge piece– it’s clever and beautiful and so well done! I’ve never had my Chili Pepper EP turn out that way, and I wish it would! Those letters look amazing. Your weathered wood background is fabulous, and the darling little hearts really give it a Valentine feel.

    Your little Cupid is sweet as can be! I love that image, and you used it beautifully. And, aren’t those foliage pieces awesome??

Leave a Reply

