Compendium of Curiosities #28

I was quite excited when I saw that we were doing “Colorful Layered Fragments” this week for the Compendium of Curiosities challenge over at Linda’s.  I’ve been wanting to try this one for a couple of months, but didn’t want to “get ahead of the game,” as it were.

First I have to admit that I do not have the official refillable pen that Tim uses for this technique.  I heard a rumor they were on sale at Joann’s, but when I got to my local store (which, in all honesty, is one of the worst Joann’s, inventory-wise, that exists), they had absolutely nothing of Tim’s whatsoever, much less any Ranger products.  ::sigh::

So I had to improvise.  I used a set of Tsukineko dry felt-tip pens and, once I got the hang of it, cotton swabs!  I had to keep adding color to my improvised tools, but they worked fairly well and I had a wonderful time!  I was inspired to pull out my smaller stamps, some I hadn’t even used yet because of their small size, and spent quite an enjoyable two hours making a variety of colorful fragments. 

The refillable pen is still on my shopping list, because I can tell the technique will be much easier with it, but it was nice to be able to try it right away without having to make a special trip.

That’s Tim Holtz paper in the background, grungeboard letters and, of course, plenty of Stickles!

6 Responses to “Compendium of Curiosities #28”

  1. Pam Loris Says:

    Your fragment piece is gorgeous! Great job coloring without the correct ‘pen’! I don’t have them either!
    Pam

  2. Cindy Says:

    Beautiful. I love the flowers!

  3. Marlene Moore Says:

    Your tag is lovely! my Jo-anns is awful too, lol!

  4. Annette G Says:

    Gorgeous fragment and tag……so beautiful. Annette x

  5. Linda Ledbetter Says:

    Lisa, you improvised beautifully! The Fragment turned out great, and the colors really pop! I love the sweet background, too and you’ve really got the hang of those Stickles (I always seem to glob mine). You’ve definitely brought the sunshine in, and if you haven’t already, be sure to submit this over at Drunken Stampers for the “Sunshine” challenge, too!

  6. Kathy Eddy Says:

    This is just beautiful! Oh how I long for spring after seeing these great colors!

Leave a Reply

