The 12 Tags of Christmas…Day 12

The party’s over…it’s time to go…ooo…ooOOOOooo…booo-hooooo!

Do I sound maudlin?  Tim is officially done making his 12 Christmas tags, and a collective sigh is heard ’round the world!

Of course, one can always go back and do the 36 tags from the previous three years, right?  Really?  Why not?  We’ll see how much energy and time I have left after I wrap everything tonight and get it into the mail.  That will be half the Christmas job done!

Anyway, here’s the lovely and talented Tim Holtz’s final tag – Day 12:

We’ve noticed, haven’t we, that he’s gone pretty heavy on the die-cuts this year?  Probably because he’s anxious to use the Vagabond (collective oooh, ahhhh!), his brand-spankin-new awesome electrical die-cut machine.  Of course, I didn’t have this ornament die either, just as I didn’t have the house, the deer, the little town, the snowman, the flower, the tag, the flourish, the tree…oh, what else?  Fact is, I only just now got a Sizzix, which I bought used from someone who got a new Vagabond (it helps to know where to look!) and haven’t bought a single die yet.  So as usual, I cut the die part freehand.  It wasn’t so bad; the ornament doesn’t have a ton of tiny details.

What I couldn’t do is cut out that “joy” in the middle of the ornament, so instead I cut an oval of grunge paper, inked it up and added the word using my very favorite sparkly chipboard alphabet.  I also didn’t have the little pine-cone sprig, so I made do with a few cuts from a leaf punch and three white pom-poms, which I rolled in red dye ink and then heat-embossed with clear powder.  Do they look like some kind of vaguely poisonous winter berry?  That’s what I was going for.

I glued the December calendar from Tim’s tissue tape onto a Fragment, then covered it with Rock Candy Distress Stickles.  The corners, since I still can’t find my metal ones, were cut from silver glitter paper.

Not one to leave well enough alone (and really, not wanting the 12 tags to end!), I then went back and modified the tags from Day 6 and Day 7.  I never liked the chipboard letters I used on the poinsettia tag, so I die-cut new ones from red cardstock and glittered ’em up with Stickles.  I also dabbed Snow Cap paint on the background to make them stand out more.

Much better!

I didn’t have a huge reason to change the deer tag; pretty much liked it as it was, but I found a beautiful sparkly aqua button in my button drawer and just had to use it!  It looked best on the deer tag, so I added it to the top along with another cute little button.

Now all I have to do is get my cards done!  Oh, and…uh…vacuum.  And do laundry.  And clean the kitchen.  I’m not sayin’ the housework was totally neglected while I did the tags, mind you, because I do remember at some point putting some flatware in the dishwasher.  (Or maybe it was just the one spoon.  Still, it really did happen.)

One Response to “The 12 Tags of Christmas…Day 12”

  1. That Other Chick Says:

    I am so impressed by your 12 Tags of T!m! You did a fantastic job, and so far from your comfort zone. I’ve loved seeing each and every one of them! BeAuT!ful!!

    If you’d like to display them on either of my mantles, that offer is still open!

Leave a Reply

