The 12 Tags of Christmas…Day Two

I’ve been working in my studio furiously trying to catch up to the illustrious Tim Holtz, who is making one holiday tag per day for the first 12 days of December.  It amazes me that his muse never seems to falter; each day brings a tag more beautiful and interesting than the last!

This is Tim’s tag for day two:

Happily, I had most of the supplies needed – except Cut ‘n Dry Felt.  Tim’s technique with the felt allows each part of the stamp to be colored individually and then embossed; the advantage is that you can make many multiples of this look.  Which is great if you’re in a holiday card production line!  But since I’m only making the one tag, and since I don’t have the felt, I decided to use the method wherein you color each part of the stamp carefully with markers or an ink pad.  I used Fired Brick and Peeled Paint Distress Inks to color my holly stamp and then embossed.

If the “Merry Christmas” stamp looks a little off-kilter, it’s because, as I was starting to position it over the tag, the stamp fell off the acrylic block!  Plop.  So there it was and there it had to stay.  (I didn’t feel like preparing another tag background!)

I tied my bird charm on with waxed linen thread and, because the bottom edge seemed to “need” something, added three little jingle bells with the thread as well.  This was a fun, easy and quick tag!

Leave a Reply

