The 12 Tags of Christmas…Day Four

So after a whirlwhind afternoon in my studio, I finished tag #4 of the wonderful 12 tags of Christmas that Tim Holtz is creating each day on his website.

This is Tim’s tag for Day Four:

The fabulous technique for Day Four is inking a Facet (which is like a chandelier crystal, only flat on one side) with alcohol inks and then doing a resist technique with archival ink stamping.  Unfortunately I don’t have any Facets (haven’t come across them in my travels), so I used a Fragment tag instead.  A Fragment is a flat 1/8″ thick piece of acrylic; the technique worked just fine, though I think it would have been prettier with a Facet.  I’m going to add these to my “get after Christmas” list!

Anyway, I also didn’t have Tim’s seasonal paper stack, though it wasn’t for lack of trying to get one.  I searched several local stores without luck, unfortunately.  I just knew he’d be using his seasonal paper and here I am without it!  So instead I used a printout of a pretty vintage Santa.  I glued a tag to the back, leaving the unprinted (white) areas intact.  I stamped snowflakes around the white edges with Versamark, then applied blue chalk to color the edges.  A good spray of fixative (Krylon Matte Finish) and the background was ready to go!

I do have some Prima bling flourishes, but they weren’t quite the right “pattern” for my tag, so instead I used a flourish stencil to add my own bling, one gem at a time.  The ticket is another free digital goodie from the lovelies at Pink Paislee (see “Day One” for the link), which matched perfectly!

Whew!  Well, back to the studio.  I have two more days to catch up!

One Response to “The 12 Tags of Christmas…Day Four”

  1. Kathy Eddy Says:

    Oh my goodness! This is just stunning! It is one of the best I’ve seen this season of tags! Wow!

Leave a Reply

