The 12 Tags of Christmas…Day One

So the amazing and talented Tim Holtz has a tradition each holiday season on his blog wherein he creates one tag per day during the first 12 days of December.  I’ve looked at his wonderful tags in the past, but didn’t consider following along until this year.  Since I’ve already been steeped in Tim’s techniques for the past few weeks by playing along with Linda’s Compendium of Curiosities challenge, I’ve acquired lots of the same products he uses, so I thought I’d give it a shot.

Between work and other obligations, I wasn’t able to get started until today, and he already has five completed!  Hopefully I’ll be able to catch up before I go back to work on Tuesday.

This is Tim’s tag for Day One:

Supplies he used that I didn’t have: haunted house die, fence die, “notebook texture fade” embossing folder, mini garland (for wreath), Prima branch (for tree), mini safety pin, white crackle paint, ticket stamp, Sparkle Fluff.

So…yeah.  I had to do a lot of substituting.  But that’s half the fun!

A Google image search turned up a nice house silhouette, which I traced and cut from grunge paper.  I used thick white acrylic paint (from a tube) sprinkled with glitter for the snow.  The tree is a cherry blossom branch die-cut from brown paper and dabbed with white paint.  The fence is a wooden piece I picked up at the craft store (knowing I’d need it ahead of time).

I made the wreath by punching out lots of little “hands” from green velvet paper and gluing them to a ring of cardstock, then added a hemp cord bow and some sticky-back pearls.  (I actually picked up the hand punch for this very purpose; it was in the dollar bin at Michael’s.)

I don’t have the ticket stamp, but my wonderful pal Terri shared this awesome Pink Paislee site with me – they’re giving away a holiday ticket download!  I found the perfect one to use on my tag, but decided I like it better on the fence instead of on the side, where it covered too much of the cute little house.  Instead I added three mini paper clips to that edge to give it some interest.  I colored a brass star charm with a silver paint pen, highlighted it with black permanent ink and added it with a loop of wire and a mini clip, since I didn’t have a safety pin.

Whew…that one involved a lot of drying time!  Hopefully tag #2 won’t be nearly as time-consuming, though I have to admit I’m having a blast!

One Response to “The 12 Tags of Christmas…Day One”

  1. Kathy Eddy Says:

    Great job on all your substitutes. It’s fun finding things to use instead of his items, isn’t it. day @ will go a lot quicker for you.

Leave a Reply

