Steampunk…is it you?

Well, apparently it isn’t me.  I love Artist Trading Cards and I love Artchix swaps (because getting a swap package from Artchix is like Christmas in the mail!) and their latest swap is for ATCs with a Steampunk theme.  So, despite that I’m not a huge Steampunk fan, I thought I’d at least give it a shot to see if I could pull it off.

I bought a little clock for 99 cents at the thrift store and proceeded to destroy it in order to salvage the gears inside.  Found a cool line drawing of interlocking gears on the internet and rubbed the printout with some “old paper” Distress Ink.  Cut out an adventurous looking gal from the Artchix collage sheet, “Loveliness,” and made her a pair of goggles by punching out circles from acetate that I’d colored with butterscotch alcohol ink.  The final touch was a bit of copper chain and the word tags.

I could not resist adding a flower!

While making this ATC, I discovered that I am very definitely not a Steampunk kinda gal.  It’s really just not my style.  I enjoyed the opportunity to work outside the box for a change, but it didn’t come easy!  I think I used up every bit of my meager Steampunk creativity to make just one card.  My brain might actually explode if I were to try to come up with five more!  So this is one swap I’ll have to pass on, but at least I can say I tried.  🙂

2 Responses to “Steampunk…is it you?”

  1. Terri Says:

    I don’t quite ‘get’ steampunk, though the idea of it intrigues me. I do think your ATC is pretty darn cute no matter what the style!

  2. Cindy Says:

    I love steampunk particularly steampunk jewelry. It is a great marriage of vintage + modern which are my two favorites.

Leave a Reply

