Clock of the Heart

When I was about 22 (::mumble mumble:: number of years ago), I had a huge crush on this guy:

Loved his music, loved his look, loved that underneath all the makeup and crazy costumes, he was a humble, insecure guy who used to be fat, and who found solace in his musical talent.  Come to think of it, he was much like my other major teen/young adult crush, Elton John.  Funny how unattainable each of them would have been, even if I had been in a position to know them personally!  But then, my fantasies never included the “mushy stuff” anyway.  I wanted to know these guys; hang out with them, talk to them, be their pal.  And, of course, enjoy private concerts and songs written just for me.  🙂  I settled for attending their concerts with thousands of other fans; these are some of the most enjoyable memories from my younger life.  That, and taking second prize in a Boy George look-alike contest (in which I was the only female contestant).  Fun times!

When I read the challenge over at Simon Says this week, “Show Your Numbers,” the image of a clock popped into my head, and from there, it was a short drive to my favorite Boy George song: Time (Clock of the Heart).  It ran through my head the entire time I was creating this ATC, so of course a snippet of the lyrics managed to make their way onto it.

The clock, heart and wing clear stamps are all from the same sheet (don’t remember who makes them); I used the chalk stamping method for the clocks and embossed the wings in purple on gold vellum.  The heart was enhanced with Rock Candy Distress Stickles, though it’s not that apparent in the photo.  I used a white charcoal pencil and black Pigma pen to add details.

Sing with me!

Don’t put your head on my shoulder…sink me in a river of tears…this could be the best place yet, but you must overcome your fears…

2 Responses to “Clock of the Heart”

  1. Cindy Says:

    I love that clock! I loved that song too. It had a haunting quality to me.

  2. Dan Says:

    A great piece of work, and that gold vellum works a treat! 🙂 The Design Team are really pleased that you joined us for the Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge this week- Thank you!

Leave a Reply

