Compendium of Curiosities #16

This week, our Tim Holtz-inspired challenge over at Lovely Linda’s is what she calls “super-sized.”  She is, very kindly, allowing extra time in order to accommodate the schedules of those who are currently enjoying a beautiful ocean cruise with Lord Tim of Holtz himself and getting all kinds of goodies and fun surprises and eating like queens and shopping in exotic ports.

::sigh::

Well, at least I have laundry to look forward to.

This week’s technique, “Wrinkle Free Distress,” was quite enjoyable, albeit messy.  I had some trouble at first with very pale results until I realized that plain manila tags work better for this technique than the creamy white ones I get at the scrapbook store.  You would think the colors would be more bold on white than on manila, so I’m guessing the white ones are made of a different type of stock, or perhaps have some type of coating on them.  I used Broken China, Dusty Concord and Mustard Seed.

What I learned: Don’t skip the “drying between layers” step, unless “mud” is your favorite color.  It doesn’t take but a few seconds with a heat tool and is well worth the effort.

Now that my local Michael’s has finally started to stock Tim’s tissue tape, I find myself wanting to incorporate it in everything I make!  The black tape is from 7 Gypsies, and the crow (my subtle homage to Halloween) is an Artchix image.  (Okay, I realize it’s not a crow, but I’m pretending it is.  You know, for Halloween.)

12 Responses to “Compendium of Curiosities #16”

  1. Donna Says:

    Your tag is wonderful. The background is terrific and I love the bird!

  2. Sue Says:

    Beautiful background and that bird is lovely.

  3. Kathy Eddy Says:

    Gorgeous tag! Love that bird and the background colors are wonderful together.

  4. Rhonda Says:

    I LOVE this tag!! The bird is wonderful and everything looks great with your background – cheers!

  5. Marlene Moore Says:

    Great background! I love the bird and I see a couple of different tapes you used too, tapes are becoming my new obsession!

  6. Annette Says:

    I love your technique with the distress inks and I love all the different layers you have used. Just brilliant to look at. x

  7. Lena Says:

    Beautiful, beautiful! Love your “fake” crow. The colours are really nice together. And, me too, …adore the tapes. Do you know that you can stamp on normal masking tape and get the sama effect?

  8. Terry Says:

    Way awesome tag! Love that bird! Stunning colors and details!

  9. Yelowflower Says:

    love it…so elegant

  10. Linda L3 Says:

    Ooh, Lisa, this is fabulous! I never made the connection, but you’re so right– the technique really does work better on the plain manilla tags. Yours is flat-out gorgeous, with those lovely colors and the awesome bird image!

    Isn’t the Tissue Tape so cool? You used it brilliantly! I love how your stamping overlapped the tag and the tape, and the layered effect at the base is great! Awesome job, girlfriend!

  11. Wanda H Says:

    Fabulous Tag!!!

  12. lenna young andrews Says:

    wonderful tag Lisa, and I like your homage to halloween! I am not into thst holiday very much myself, I must admit. : )

Leave a Reply

