Gift box: a mini-tutorial

So I decided to join the upcoming holiday gift swap over at Artchix Studios, and needed a way to package up the mini books and ATCs I made.  Gift bags seemed too fragile (especially that small) and I couldn’t find boxes in the exact size I needed.  (Plus, they’re rather costly!)  So why not make my own?

Making a lidded gift box is surprisingly easy, even for one as math-challenged as myself.  Here’s a little peek at one of the boxes I made, along with simple instructions.

To begin, decide the length, width and depth you’d like your box to be.  I needed an ATC to fit in the box, along with a mini book somewhat smaller than the ATC.  An ATC is 2-1/2″ x 3-1/2″.  Plastic ATC sleeves are slightly larger.  So I decided my box should be 2-3/4″ x 3-3/4″.  As the ATC and mini book together are somewhat less than 1/2″ thick, a good depth for the box would be 1/2″.  Thus I needed to add 1/2″ to each side of the original dimensions.  So the final measurement  is 3-3/4″ x 4-3/4″.  In other words, the length, plus the width, plus twice the depth on each side.

I cut a rectangle out of heavy scrapbook paper using these measurements, then scored each side of the rectangle at the 1/2″ mark (the depth).  Where the scored lines meet at each corner, you’ll notice a little box is formed.  Holding the rectangle with the long side facing you, cut each of the two scored vertical lines, just up to the horizontal scored line (a 1/2″ snip, in my case).  Repeat on the other side.  What this does is form the flaps.  Fold up the sides of the box on the scored lines.  You can glue the flaps on the inside or outside; either way works fine.  I use my favorite glue, Fabri-Tac, because it grabs quickly, so you won’t have to use a clamp or sit holding the flap against the side of the box for more than a few seconds.  (Love that stuff.)

Make the bottom of the box in the exact same way.  I made the bottoms very slightly smaller than the tops so they’d fit together smoothly.  The boxes are perfect for small gifts and won’t break the bank.  (Have you priced gift boxes on-line?  Good gravy!)  You can even make them out of old greeting cards so the decorating is done for you!

Leave a Reply

