Compendium of Curiosities #15

Is it really already Week 15 of the Tim Holtz challenge over at Linda’s?  It most certainly is, and what a beautiful technique; it’s called Agate Ink.  Or something like that.  (Those of you following along, please turn to page 53!  The rest of you – go buy Tim’s book!  What are you waiting for?)

What I learned: When you use the type of paint mentioned in the instructions, you end up with a beautiful, albeit shiny finish.  I made two backgrounds with the “official” type of paint and while they’re pretty, I had a difficult time finding suitable enhancements.  So I tried “regular” acrylic paint – and voila!  Still pretty, but with a matte finish, which I have to say I do prefer.  The alcohol ink colors I used were Cranberry, Butterscotch and Latte.

I had treated myself to a roll of Tim’s “tissue tape” when I ran across it at Michael’s last week, and decided to give it a whirl.  The original color wasn’t quite right, so I swiped a Colorbox chalk ink pad (Yellow Ochre) across the tape, and that did the trick.  Added a bit of black self-stick lace and some mulberry paper, keeping everything in the realm of “matte.”  So, no Stickles and no bling, which is unusual for me! – but I like how it turned out anyway.

12 Responses to “Compendium of Curiosities #15”

  1. Terry Says:

    Your background colors are beautiful. Love how the butterfly just pops off the tag!

  2. Marlene Moore Says:

    The colours are really pretty, great job with the technique!

  3. Sandi M Says:

    Wonderful colors. The butterfly is gorgeous against the background!

  4. CuddlyBunny Says:

    WOAH! Maybe you should go bling-less all of the time! This is fantastic!

    I love the colors and the incredibly realistic butterfly wings!

  5. Donna Says:

    Wow! Your tag is very beautiful. I love the combination you put together!

  6. Shawn Says:

    This is really beautiful. I love the matte finish. Great idea to try some different paints. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Kathy Eddy Says:

    This is absolutely gorgeous! I love it.

  8. Linda Ledbetter Says:

    This looks completely fabulous, Lisa! You’re right– the technique worked beautifully with the matte acrylic paint, and the colors look SO vibrant! I love the palette you chose– it suits the butterfly perfectly! The tissue tape is fabulous (GREAT idea to use the chalk ink on it!) and the black lace just makes it all the more elegant. Love, LOVE it!

  9. Jackie Says:

    A lovely tag, Lisa. I love the butterfly!

  10. Annette Says:

    A really gorgeous tag, am loving that butterfly….lush. x

  11. Toni Says:

    I just love , love, love your tag!!!! The butterfly is absolutely divine! Thank you for sharing.

  12. Yelowflower Says:

    very pretty, love butterflies…that ribbon is neat too

Leave a Reply

