Sketchbook Project #2

I finished the second spread in my sketchbook a few days ago, but just now got around to scanning it.  I’ve decided I’m going to use a silhouette of some kind in each spread, for continuity’s sake.  I always like limited options when creating, as it takes the pressure off when the whole world of techniques and themes aren’t available.  I think that’s why I enjoy challenges so much.

Anyway, I kept this one simple; some metallic silver background paint streaked with red, a piece of clip art, the (now-requisite) silhouette and the snippet of story.  I already have some elements ready for the next spread, and after that one, I’m going to try and write more “upbeat” passages.  (Well, maybe at least one.)  As a huge fan of Stephen King, Ruth Rendell, Peter Straub and their ilk, my stories tend to be somewhat “dark” – frightening, suspenseful or tragic.  Hopefully I can bring myself to inject a few sunbeams and rainbows into the next one!  🙂

One Response to “Sketchbook Project #2”

  1. lenna young andrews Says:

    very cool, Lisa. I like how your “theme” is developing!

Leave a Reply

