Channeling Wendy Vecchi

The fine folks over at Simon Says have issued their newest weekly challenge – make art in the style of Wendy Vecchi at Studio 490.  I had heard the lady’s name before, but until I checked out her blog, I didn’t realize what I was missing!

Wendy has a unique and very recognizable style.  I spent a good half hour perusing her blog, getting a feel for her particular form of creativity.  It is so very different from mine!  But I watched and I learned…I absorbed the Studio 490 energy…my chakras opened, receptive to the powerful vintage art…deeply I breathed in the essence of grungeboard…my fingers became virtually stained with Distress ink…polka-dotted and scalloped edge landscapes filled my brain…metal charms and paper flowers infused me with enlightenment …until at last I became ONE with the Wendy Vecchi Universe!

Om….om…be the Wendy…be the Wendy…om…

At first I didn’t think I would enjoy trying to emulate another artist’s style, but turns out I had a heckuva good time!  I’ve always loved a good challenge, and this one was delightful.

I decided to go with a house shape, as Wendy uses that image a lot in her work.  I cut up an old ruler and texture-embossed grunge paper for the house and roof, then colored them with Distress Inks (Mustard Seed and Broken China, with Tea Dye enhancements).  The roof edges, butterfly and vines are grungeboard die cuts colored with Walnut Stain, Spiced Marmalade and Peeled Paint.  I smeared a little Stickles (Peeled Paint and Copper) on the butterfly and vines.  Of course I had to add one of Wendy’s signature pieces – a beautiful paper rose.  I cut mine from an old sheet music book and colored the petals with Spun Sugar and Tattered Rose.  The final touch is a Tim Holtz metal tag, which serves as the house number, 2240, and reminds us to cherish our homes.  (I know I do!)

Many thanks to the great folks at Simon Says for having such an awesome challenge.  I hope we’ll do more “in the style of” projects, because this was super fun!

Edited to add:  Whoo-hoo!  My little house was chosen as one of the “top three” projects this week!  I’m so happy I could sing…!  (To the tune of “I’ve Got a Golden Ticket” from Willie Wonka): “I’ve got a brand-new blinkie!  I’ve got a brand-new blin-kie…on…my…blog!”

::sigh:: I guess you had to be there.

12 Responses to “Channeling Wendy Vecchi”

  1. Sue Says:

    Love your “Vecchi” inspired house……have emailed you re your comment on my blog 🙂

  2. Nancy Crissinger Says:

    Sweet “Wendy” house, Lisa! You’ve channeled Wendy wonderfully!!
    Thank you for joining me & the other Design Team members for this week’s Simon Says Stamp & Show Challenge! We really appreciate you joining in with us & I hope you continue to do so.

  3. Lynnef Says:

    OK…so I sat and stared at you piece…….STUNNINGLY BREATHTAKING!!! ooops just had to go back and look at it again!!! STUNNING!!!

    thanks bunches for joining the Design Teamies and Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge!!

  4. Kathy Eddy Says:

    This is fabulous! Wendy would be proud!

  5. Lori Says:

    This rocks! Totally cool! Love how you used those hinges, really fabulous!

  6. helen Says:

    Awesome!! Love how you’ve got the style just right.

  7. Nancy Wethington Says:

    Girl, do you know how to channel! This is awesome. To use the grungeboard hinges as a roofline is pure genius! Makes this look like a pagoda. Love it. Thanks for playing along with the Simon Says Stamp & Show DT.

  8. Nan Says:

    Wow Wendy, I mean Lisa, this is sooooo cool! I love this little house that you built. I’ve been a big fan of Th for along time but didn’t really know the “Wendy” way. Am a fan now! Anyway how are ya?

  9. Terry Says:

    This is way darling! I love it! The roof, the embossed house and then the flower and butterfly! Wow!

  10. Monica Ward Says:

    Congrats on your win!!

  11. 2amscrapper Says:

    Congrats–this is beautiful!

  12. Lisa H Says:

    That is so cute!! I do love how you used the hinge die for the roof. Clever!

Leave a Reply

