Compendium Challenge #8

The weeks have flown by since the fabulous Linda over at Studio L3 started the Tim Holtz Compendium of Curiosities challenge.  If you haven’t picked up a copy of his book, what are you waiting for?  We’re having so much fun, I’m convinced there’s now a shortage of it somewhere else.

This week we’ve turned to page 39 and are “inking grungeboard.”  Serendipitously, I happened to pick up two packs of grungeboard a few days ago (I love you, Tuesday Morning store!) and one of the packs had butterfly wings, so I simply had to use them.  I decided to do the background in a similar fashion, so I cut my tag out of grunge paper.  Which is basically grungeboard, only thinner and more flexible.

I have to say I love this technique!  Not only was I able to “get it right the first time” (for a change), but I am absolutely blown away by how closely the finished product looks and feels like leather.  Appearances to the contrary, no cows were harmed in the creation of this tag.

Distress Inks used were Broken China, Peeled Paint and Mustard Seed for the background; Spiced Marmalade, Fired Brick and Tea Dye for the butterfly and tag.  I added copper colored self-adhesive “pearls” because they remind me of those decorative tacks that are used on the edge of leather chairs.

It’s never too late to join us for the weekly challenge, Tim Holtz fans!  We’re only on Week 8 and there are dozens of techniques left to learn.  🙂

14 Responses to “Compendium Challenge #8”

  1. Linda Ledbetter Says:

    Lisa, this is wonderful and whimsical and PERFECT! What a sweet and gorgeous work of art. Isn’t grunge the coolest stuff? You can really make it look like leather– I think it even kind of smells like leather!– and it takes shading so well. I just adore everything about your butterfly tag, from the pretty colors to the embossed wings to the flock of butterflies (is it a flock?) on the background. Well done, sweet lady!

  2. Evelyn Says:

    This is just beautiful! You have great color shading everywhere!

  3. Annette Says:

    I love this tag, its so fresh and vibrant. Annette x

  4. Marlene Moore Says:

    Gorgeous tag! the colours are so bright and vibrant.

  5. Terry Says:

    Love your butterfly tag! Fantastic colors!

  6. Kathy Eddy Says:

    So pretty. What gorgeous colors you used!

  7. Minxy Says:

    The last sentence of your first paragraph made me chuckle, but i totally agree, its super fun..I’m loving your tag and the 2tone colouring

  8. sherry goodloe Says:

    Your stamped butterflies are so nice a clear! Love your created piece 🙂

  9. CuddlyBunny Says:

    My grunge stuff also is from Tuesdays Morning’s! Yay for cheapies!

    And, Yay for your beautiful tag! Butterflies and gorgeous summer colors … wonderful!

  10. Sherry Says:

    WOW – your tag is stunning!! Love the colours – and the clarity of your photograph is amazing too.

  11. Minnie Mac Says:

    Such vibrant colours. A great combination.

    Marilyn

  12. Nan Says:

    Hey Artiste Fantastico! This is really great…..however it looks suspiciously like leather, LOL…..seriously this challenge is so great and I love your tag!

  13. Jennie Says:

    Such a pretty piece:))

  14. Toni Says:

    This is sooooo pretty, how can anyone not love distressed inks when there displayed like this. They all blend so wonderfully… Great job !!!

Leave a Reply

