Compendium of Curiosities Challenge #4

This week over at Linda’s L3 blog, our Tim Holtz challenge is a technique called “shabby chic.”

I had learned this technique before – the result, anyway – Tim gets there a little differently than I do.  Both ways work pretty well, but I found the way I learned it a few years ago works better if you’re using a highly detailed stamp.  (See my tutorial for the how-to.)  Back when I first saw this technique, it was done on metal tins – a great vintage look – and they had used creamy pastels like pale rose and mint green as the top coat.

The stamp is a big wood-mounted paisley lace background that I’ve had for several years (don’t know who makes it, unfortunately; that info isn’t on the wood block).  I did mine rather the opposite of the way Tim does; he uses a black “undercoat” and light-colored paint for the topcoat.  I didn’t use an undercoat, rather I just left the off-white tag its original color, and used dark paint (“espresso”) as the topcoat.

Want to know how to do this great technique the Official Tim way?  Get his excellent book, Compendium of Curiosities, and then join us every Monday over at L3 for a new challenge!  (You’ll be so glad you did.)

7 Responses to “Compendium of Curiosities Challenge #4”

  1. Kathy Eddy Says:

    This is simply stunning! I might have to try it your way too. I love Tim’s but yhis is wonderful as well! Perfect image for it also.

  2. Linda Ledbetter Says:

    Lisa, this is spectacular! Not only your card, but your brilliant tutorial. I love getting the lowdown on different approaches, and yours is truly helpful, well-written and something I’ll refer to many times! Thank you for sharing your talents in the both the visual and written realms! I’m so happy you’re doing the Compendium Challenges!

    Hugs,
    Linda

  3. Stephen Says:

    Very Nice, I love vintage children. Reminds me of when my daughter was young.

  4. Julie S Says:

    Beautiful vintage piece, I too love the vintage children images. Sometimes when doing this technique, I start off by putting color down first, but I love the ivory with the black.

  5. Donna Says:

    Very beautiful effect! Thanks for the info.

  6. Lori Says:

    Wow, this turned out spectacular! Well done!

  7. Annette Says:

    Wow this is fabulous x

Leave a Reply

