Compendium of Curiosities Challenge #3

Hard to believe it’s already week three over at lovely Linda Ledbetter’s blog, wherein the participants are trying Tim’s “Alcohol Ink Monoprint” technique.

As with week one, which also involved ink, I had a bit of trouble getting the technique down pat, though it was certainly fun and interesting getting to the point where I was confident of a decent result.  One secret I did discover; cut your glossy paper an inch or two larger all around than you’ll need.  This will give you a place to hold onto it, as well as some “wiggle room” in case the edges don’t get all covered.

Fortunately, even the “failures” will have some good areas, and I was able to salvage these by cutting out the pretty parts and stamping them.  My tag is a combination of two large pieces, one layered on the other, with some of the little stamped bits.

The stamps are from a set of four by Hero Arts, which I’ve had for approximately 8 zillion years.  I cut off the bottom edge of the tag and added a strip of sheer ribbon, which I fringed with a scissors.  This is a much bolder and brighter look than I’m used to working with!  But it was really fun to do and I now have a nice little stack of pretty papers to use in future projects.  Many thanks to Linda for inspiring us each week with her enthusiasm and her always-very-wonderful sample project!  🙂

7 Responses to “Compendium of Curiosities Challenge #3”

  1. Maggie Says:

    So bright and vibrant I love it and a tag too my fav thing lol

    Maggie

  2. Linda Ledbetter Says:

    Holy cow, this is gorgeous! I absolutely love the way you layered those colorful pieces together, and the reverse stamps and black borders tie it all together perfectly! You do bold and bright very, very well.

    In fact, everything you make is stunning!

    Thanks for playing again this week, and for your kind words, too. 🙂

    See you Monday for Challenge 4!

    ♥~Linda

  3. Annette Says:

    Adore this its beautiful. Annette x

  4. Maz H Says:

    This is gorgeous – really bright and cheerful! x

  5. CuddlyBunny Says:

    Love your use of BRIGHT, happy colors!

  6. Nan Says:

    Love this….you got great colors! And you are so right about cutting it a bit larger…took me several tries to figure that out. As a result I have had purple “spots” all week. Husband says “um,,,did you use something different in your studio or do you have a communiacble disease? ” LOL!

  7. Terri Says:

    I love that you used so many vibrant color combinations on your tag, while it may be brighter than you are used to, it’s still very you, Lisa. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

