When the Challenge is Too Challenging

I’ve been a fan of Gail’s wonderful Mind Wide Open blog since it began, and haven’t missed a single monthly challenge.  Sure, some of the images have been a little more challenging than others, but I always managed to come up with at least one workable idea in the seven days we’re allotted.

Then came this one – the hardest yet.  I suspect my brain was less than fully engaged when I first saw this image, because for the life of me, I couldn’t figure out what it was.

mwo duck

My first thought was, okay, so Gail has finally gone off the deep end and given us a fuzzy duck with a striped neck.  (Why is he looking at me like that?  What does he want from me?!)

Eventually I did realize what this is supposed to be (I’d make a great Rorschach test subject, apparently), but it didn’t help matters any.  Inspiration was slow in coming, and as the deadline loomed, I began to panic a little.  What few ideas I mustered were complete duds.  I like working with, as Gail herself put it, “pretty” images, like vintage women and children and flowers and birds.

So, in the end, I kinda cheated.  On the last day of the challenge, I came across this hinged wooden box at the thrift store  and inspiration struck.  I did use the image, so technically I followed the rules of the challenge. Rendering it unrecognizable, however, is probably stretching the rules…maybe just a teeny, tiny bit?  But, by golly, I refuse to miss a challenge, no matter what it takes!

 (Sorry, Mr. Stripey-Necked Duck.)

mwo mosaic box sr

5 Responses to “When the Challenge is Too Challenging”

  1. nan Says:

    Hi Lisa….At least you figured it out to be a duck! I was thinking a giant bee was attacking a punk rocker ??? I just couldn’t get inspired. Love your mosaic box though!

  2. Cindy Says:

    Nigel saw that and started singing “Little Bee”.

  3. Anni Says:

    Lisa your mosaic box is fantastic what at great idea to cut the image in little pieces.

  4. Joy Says:

    It’s beautifully executed!

  5. Lisa Says:

    This is truly “Quintessential Lisa”!! You should win for sheer creativity! And I am with you on the duck–exactly what I saw.

Leave a Reply

