Beware! Or…Spooky!

Halloween is fast approaching, and I recently joined two swaps on Swap-Bot in which we’re to make an appropriate hanging to display on our door during the Season of Fright.  My favorite thrift store put out the Halloween stuff last week and I was thrilled to find two words rendered in elegant script and covered in black glass glitter: “Beware” and “Spooky.”  Immediately I was inspired to use one of each in my wall hangings.

As the words look rather classy, I threw out all notions of making something like a cutesy scarecrow on a straw wreath (not that I would have seriously considered that in the first place!) and began to plan something more refined.  The first thing that came to mind was that I needed roses…roses the deep, rich color of blood.  (Bwa-ha-ha-haaaaa!)   Alas, all I could find were roses the deep, rich color of cheap wine.  But it’s cool – they were on clearance!  I also bought sheer black ribbon with a subtle sparkle and raided my stash for tiny beads (technically, “Beedz”), jewelry components and colorful gems.  I cut and painted ceiling tile for the substrate.  Love that stuff!  Not only inexpensive, but a great texture.

You may recognize these images; one previously graced the cover of a comp book for a swap in which my partner wanted a “sexy witch,” and the other is the lovely image from last October’s Mind Wide Open challenge.  Back then I used lots of molding paste, paint and a giant spider to create my challenge project.  I like this one much better.

halloween hanging 1 sr

halloween hanging 2 sr

What else is spooky? On September 11, the odometer in my 2000 Toyota Corolla reached another milestone in its long, jaded career.

odometer 091109

 The spooky part?  I’ve washed my car a total of maybe ten times in its entire life.  (I’d rather spend the $$ on art supplies!  Besides, it rains a lot, and that’s sort of like a car wash.  Right?)  My husband is convinced that dirt is the only thing holding my car together at this point, but I know better.  I’ll still be driving it when it reaches its next big milestone.  🙂

2 Responses to “Beware! Or…Spooky!”

  1. Beware! Or…Spooky! Scripts Rss Says:

    […] the original: Beware! Or…Spooky! By admin | category: Script??????? | tags: black-glass, bumbling-young, classy, […]

  2. Terri Says:

    Oooh, I like these! Ceiling tile – what a good idea. Hey, I like those flowers, but then I also like cheap red wine.

    Congrats on the milestone, too.

Leave a Reply

