Daughter

I don’t have any kids of my own, but I do love using pictures of them in my artwork.  This week the challenge over at Mind Wide Open provides this gorgeous image and the word prompt “daughter.”

mwo daughter image sr

Isn’t she lovely?  This is one of my top-three favorites so far.  🙂

I decided to play around with the image in my photo editing program, tweaking the hue and saturation to brighten it up a little.  Once I did so, I realized the colors were a perfect match to some fat quarters I bought a few months ago to decorate my laptop bag.  I’d had a vague idea of making an artsy patchwork of some kind and wanted bright colors to play off the black bag.  Then I was struck with feline inspiration for the bag, and no longer had a use for those fabrics.  Until now!

I’m not a seamstress by any means, and most “traditional” fabric projects I attempt turn out really awful less than stellar.  But once I got myself into the mindset of treating the fabric as if it were paper, with stitching as the adhesive instead of glue, I was able to whip out this wall hanging in a couple of hours.  (Don’t look too closely at the amateurish stitching!  And if you do, tell yourself I meant for it to look like that.  It’s artistic, dang it!)  I made it like a quilt, adding batting and a backing and stitching all the layers together around the edge, which gives it a nice “weight” and sturdiness.

mwo daughter sr

Check out the Mind Wide Open blog starting on the 9th, where you can see all the entries for this month’s challenge. It’s always intriguing to see how different artists create with the same image.  And don’t forget to vote for your favorite!

3 Responses to “Daughter”

  1. Tina Says:

    really cute, and love the bright colors you used. check out my creation using the same image.:0) these challenges are so fun.

  2. Rebecca Says:

    Hi Lisa, thank you for your vote and for visiting my blog! I really had fun with the challenge. It was a great reason to “make” myself be creative. I don’t consider myself a seamstress either, but love to try the “artistic” paper/fabric art quilts. I really like your wall hanging, I think that’s actually what I had in mind too until I noticed an old pillow form sitting in my closet. I hope to see more of your work over at mind wide open or on your blog. By the way…I’m a crazy cat lady too! 🙂

  3. Terri Says:

    Man, when I saw the title of this post, I thought you’d been keeping a huge secret from me all these years! Now that I’m past that – this is really good! You sew very artfully – love the fabrics – would those be cat bag fabrics by any chance?

    Love it!!

Leave a Reply

