Grin and Bear It

I don’t normally have helpers in my studio (barring the elves that move stuff while I’m asleep – please, has anyone seen my chipboard?), but I just knew my entry for the monthly challenge over at Mind Wide Open would be all the better for having some furry friends pitch in.

This week I’m hosting two “traveling bears” here in Florida.  It was a coincidence that both are here at the same time, but really interesting!  The bears spend a week with each host, having as much fun as they can bear (okay, I promise not to do that again) and then they move on to a new adventure.

Saffron arrived from Chicago wearing an adorable sweater, which she promptly removed once she realized it was going to be in the 90s the entire time she was here.  She had not done any artwork before, but caught on pretty quickly.   We decided to decorate a composition book for the challenge, since they are plentiful at this time of year.

saffron paints

Saffron was so into the painting!  She reached a kind of meditative zen state, becoming “one with the paintbrush” (at least that’s how she described it).  Then it was time to give Koda a chance.  He was a little wilder with the paint than the contemplative  Saffron; it was touch and go for awhile on whether we’d run out of paper towels.  Still, he did a nice job, despite his mild complaints about the “girly” design.

koda paints

Once the bears had cleaned up and were safely out of harm’s way, I finished the book with flowers, gems and a gold border sticker.  Koda insisted that I give the girl a crown, and Saffron liked the idea of adding some Lumiere pink/gold halo paint.  I’m glad I took their advice!

mwo sr

Voting begins on the Mind Wide Open blog on August 9th.  Come check out the other entries – there are always some dazzlers! – and vote for your favorite by August 15th.

3 Responses to “Grin and Bear It”

  1. Myrna Says:

    Beautiful! You’ve used all my favorite colors! Cute story, too!!

  2. Lisa Says:

    This post made me smile the whole time I read it! Cute, cute!

  3. Anni Says:

    Love your story about the bears there are visiting you, wonderful art work you and the bears have made together.

Leave a Reply

