Wish

That’s the word prompt for this month’s challenge over at Mind Wide Open.  The image is that of a wistful little girl and the colors are quite lovely.  Dude and I went out of town on the last day this was due and I almost forgot to make something!  (Perish the thought!)  I haven’t missed a Mind Wide Open challenge yet, and don’t ever hope to.  It’s my favorite challenge site, which is quite something considering how many there are!

Anyway, I finally got into my studio only three hours before the deadline, so I decided to make a fairly simple collage.  I got the flowers in a kit from a monthly club (which I’ve since dropped) and they’ve been sitting on my table because they were too big to fit in my flower drawer.  The colors happened to go really well with the image, especially after I rubbed some ink on the stem (Ranger color “raisin.”  Don’t you love colors that are also foods?)

The tags were made by using a square punch first, then punching the tag out around it.  I cut up another of the images to put in the tag openings so they’d be certain to match without my having to search through my stash of papers.

The background is a sheet of scrapbook paper that I’m pretty sure I bought in the mid 90s, back when Hot Off the Press was one of the few companies that made it, the only size you could get was 8-1/2 x 11 and nobody had yet even dreamed of putting flowers and bling on a page, much less poke in a brad or set an eyelet.  Those were the Dark Ages of paper crafting, my friends.  Some day I’ll tell you more about those bad old days, but in the meantime let’s revel in the fact that it only took ten years for the crafting industry to come up with self-stick gems (my current favorite embellishment).

mwo wish

7 Responses to “Wish”

  1. Joy Says:

    Absolutely lovely!

  2. Barb Says:

    OMG, this is stunning !

  3. Becs Says:

    Hi there, thanks so much for stopping by. Your entry for MWO is gorgeous! I especially love the key and tags below…..Becs

  4. Myrna Says:

    Oooh! I love YOURS!!
    Blessings!
    Myrna

  5. Marie-Aimée Says:

    beautiful and gorgeous !!!

  6. Anne Says:

    stunning !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Tammy Says:

    This is STUNNING! Absolutely gorgeous! What do you do with all your awesome creations!? I love your attention to detail.

Leave a Reply

